A Snack Break in Northern Africa

Since I’m supposed to be cleaning out my freezers and pantry and I do have just a *few* frozen bananas lying around (see the picture in my previous post if you have any questions about that!!) I decided to make a few things with said bananas.  In one of the cookbooks I picked up on today’s library jaunt I discovered a cookie recipe that would use up not only my bananas but some other things I have in my pantry that needed to be used up like dates and coconut.  And since it heralds from North Africa it works well for my attempt at eating my way around the world!

Now, I have to come clean and say I didn’t expect much from these cookies but I was very pleasantly surprised.  The bottoms are slightly crunchy and caramelized while the tops are gooey.  It’s a wonderful combination.  T helped me by putting the batter on the trays and he made them quite big.  A few were small and I think those worked out best, but I ate those so quickly that there is no photographic evidence!

 

These are not pretty cookies, but they are sweet and chewy and have a wonderful caramelized flavor.  Plus they were easy to make and used pantry items.  It’s all a win!

The original recipe comes from “The Everything Vegan Cookbook” by Jolinda Hackett.  I modified it a bit.

North African Banana Date Cookies

Ingredients:

1.5 cups diced dried dates

2 frozen bananas

2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 cups sweetened flaked coconut

 

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Put the chopped dates in a bowl and cover with hot water for about 3 minutes.  Drain.  While the dates are soaking defrost the bananas so they are squishy.

Put the dates, the bananas, and the vanilla into the food processor.  Pulse until mixed well but not quite smooth.  Put all in a bowl and, using a wooden spoon or spatula, add the coconut.  Stir until mixed.

Drop by large teaspoonfuls onto a sprayed cookie sheet.  Bake for about 10 minutes, until caramelized on the bottom.

One response to this post.

  1. Ooh I love the simplicity of the ingredients! Awesome! I added your post to the E.A.T World list :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

