A Little of This and a Little of That….

As the weather is warming up I am starting to have a little more energy.  I’m sure it is a combination of eating better, more light, and warmer weather as RA is often exacerbated by cold.  Which means I’ve been getting a little more creative.  So, in no particular order, a few things I’ve been cooking/doing lately.

My mom and I were supposed to go out to lunch on one of my days off last week but our schedules didn’t allow for us to go out like we thought, so I packed a picnic.  I made a salad, cooked some vegan ravioli, and sliced some kiwis.  Easy and wonderful, and pretty too!

 

T is allergic to potatoes, so french fries are out.  Yesterday I was going through the fridge, freezers, and pantries trying to clean out and use things up and I found a rutabaga.  So yes, I tried rutabaga fries.  I peeled and sliced, then cut into fries.  (And the peeling was actually pretty easy so it didn’t hurt my hands as much as potato peeling does.)  I drizzled with olive oil and some pink salt and let them sit, then baked at 450.  Now, I didn’t have but one rutabaga and they got a little overcooked.  But we really liked them; Even T ate them!  Next time I’ll be aiming for a little less charcoal briquetish, but there will be a next time!

  Ok.  This one isn’t pretty.  I’m not a food photographer, just a normal person who makes food for the family.  But I have to say, it was good!  I based it on a recipe from Fat Free Vegan called Fettuccine No-Fredo.  But I did tweak it a bit and actually left off some of her ingredients.

Ingredients:

1 head organic cauliflower

4 cups water

1 organic veggie bouillon cube

1 generous tbsp. minced garlic

1 generous tbsp. Italian seasoning

Salt & Pepper

Directions:

Chop the cauliflower into small pieces and put it in a pot.  Drop the bouillon cube into the 4 cups of water (hot is better here) and mix.  Pour over the cauliflower and add the spices.  Boil for about 15 minutes or until soft.  Put everything into a food processor and puree.

At this point I stuck it all in the fridge and left it over night.  When I got home from work I took it out and put it in a pan on the stove, along with some leftover zucchini I had steamed with olive oil.  When it was warm I poured it over top of some gluten free pasta (mine was a mix of corn and brown rice pasta, since I was cleaning out the pantry!).  I added some salt and pepper to the top and it was really good.    I’d like to explore it as a sauce in lasagna and maybe, just maybe, as a cold soup.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

