Super Easy Chocolate Pastries for Company (With a Peanut Butter Option)

So, Wednesday night was my book club.  In recent months I will admit I have purchased my food contributions for our potluck, but I figured since I was on summer break I ought to cook.  And since I have been on pantry challenge trying not to buy things, I went through my freezer seeing what I could find to use up.

Looking through lots of different things when, lo and behold, what to my wandering eyes did appear?  Why, a box of Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry sheets!  (Since T was diagnosed with the wheat allergy I don’t use things that have wheat in them that often, but I still have some things leftover to use up.)

There seems to be a little bit of controversy in the blogosphere as to whether or not these are vegan, but enough sources said “Yes” for me to be comfortable using them.  So I went in search of recipes.  Many, of course, call for animal ingredients or things I just didn’t have in my pantry at the time.

I combined some recipes and played around and came up with a lovely quick and easy pastry.  E actually did a lot of the work!  

These would be the perfect go to recipe for when you get that call

“Do you want to come over in 3 hours?  Fabulous!  Could you bring dessert?”

And these do not, in any way, “look vegan” so if you’re feeding people who still wonder a bit about your food choices you’re in luck!  E was calling them croissants, but our technique left a little to be desired so they didn’t *quite* look like croissants.  So I’m feeling better calling them simply “pastries.”

Chocolate Pastries

1 package Pepperidge Farms Puff Pastry (17.3 oz), thawed

1-2 cups dairy free chocolate chips

1/2 -1 cup peanut butter (optional)

1/4 cup dairy free butter (optional)

2-4 tbsp. organic sugar, large grains (optional)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Open up the first half of puff pastry and put it out on a clean flat surface that you have sprinkled with flour.  Roll it out until it is approximately a 16 inch square.  Cut the pastry into 4 long strips, and then cut those strips in half, giving you 8 rectangles.  Then cut each rectangle into 2 triangles.

Now you have to decide if you want to make just chocolate, or chocolate peanut butter.  If you want just chocolate put 5-8 chocolate chips down the middle of the triangle and then wrap it up, starting with the larger side.  If you want chocolate and peanut butter, first spread some peanut butter on the triangle and then add the chocolate chips and roll up.

Put them on a baking pan you have greased (I spray with cooking spray).  You can either melt the butter and spread it on, or spray with a little oil.  The ones where I used the butter looked prettier and more brown.  Now you can either leave the top plain or sprinkle on some sugar.  Some chopped nuts would be nice on the peanut butter ones as well.

I tried to put the little triangle end to stick closed on all; It worked on some and not on others.  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until light brown then let cool.

The ones on the left are peanut butter chocolate chip with nothing on top and the ones on the right are just chocolate with butter and sugar on top.

These were lovely little morsels of goodness that you could just pop in your mouth!  They would be good for a brunch as well, and are so easy!  The only problem I had was when I was rolling out the second rectangle as E was filling the first set she stopped and said “Mom?  Do you want to switch?  Because it sounds like you are fighting with that puff pastry!”

This was my dessert plate at book club.  Doesn’t it look yummy?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by stefanie on June 27, 2011 at 7:19 PM

    Sometimes the simplist of of are the best. Plus, you can’t go wrong with peanut butter and chocolate. :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

