Emergency Lunch Provisions

Today was my first day back to work after summer vacation.  I was a little nervous, but not so nervous that I neglected breakfast.  As I talked about a few weeks ago, I’m not good at remembering to eat first thing in the morning.  One of my facebook friends even commented on my page to remind me!  (Thanks Chili!)  But I did remember this morning and made a smoothie.  I also learned something.  Iceberg lettuce in a smoothie is kind of yucky.  It tastes way too much of lettuce.  Regardless, I drank the whole thing (coconut milk, frozen blueberry/strawberry mix, iceberg lettuce, and blueberry applesauce) before leaving for work.

My new office is on the second floor which actually means walking up 2 flights of stairs to my un-air-conditioned space.  Which I did while carrying boxes of books.  Man was I hot.  I did break down and go to the breakfast buffet provided for us and left up all morning.  I had a plain bagel (Panera’s plain bagels are vegan according to their website) when I was so hungry I couldn’t stand it around 10 am.

At noon I ate my yummy packed lunch.

  • A sandwich of toasted whole grain bread, vegenaise, sliced Trader Joe’s marinated tofu, lettuce and tomato.
  • A can of mixed tropical fruit.  (Yes, I know fresh is better for me but it is what I had.)
  • 3 cute little Cookie Dough Balls
  • A refillable bottle of water filled up at least 3 times!

It was good but by the time I got home I was famished.  Luckily there was still some of the hummus Mark made waiting for me!  

One thing I learned was that I need to pack a bit more.  Maybe packing some snacks would help.  As I pack tonight I’m going to try and think ahead, adding more food.

While I’m proud of myself for packing I’m also a realist and I know that there will be some days when I will just forget.  Maybe not soon with the Vegan Lunchbox Challenge for Adults on my mind, but eventually.

Which is why I usually bring some emergency provisions to work to leave in my desk.  I keep them in zippered bags so that they don’t get visited by any critter friends.

Sometimes I will go buy things specifically for this purpose but tonight I figured I would just scour my cabinets for what might work.

I’m sure I will add to this stash as I find things but for now I’m taking a can of soup, a bowl and spoon in which I can eat that soup (no I will not reheat it in the plastic bowl!), a package of wasa crackers, and some funky vegan antioxidant gumdrops I picked up somewhere.

While it’s not much it will help me to have something to fall back on if necessary.

Now I need to go make tomorrow’s lunch.  I’ve been dreaming of Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip since I saw it yesterday and I think it *needs* to be in tomorrow’s lunch!

What did you pack for lunch today?

Do you keep a stash of food at work?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by stefanie on August 23, 2011 at 12:53 PM

    The first day back to work/school is always the hardest. I think once you get into a routine, making your lunch will just be normal for you. It is a good idea to get some food in case you are running late or do forget your lunch.

    The chocolate chip dip looks good. Everything I have made frome Katie’s site has been good so im sure the dip will be too.

    Reply

    • Thanks Stefanie! I am trying to get myself into the routine of making lunch but it’s just a difficult one for me to be consistent at. And the dip was very good. I agree that everything I have made from Katie’s site has been good!

      Reply

  2. [...] some emergency provisions has helped too.  Even if it’s just a lara bar, having something in my desk keeps me from [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

