More Chocolate – This Time Cake!

I’ve been posting a lot of desserts lately.  Mostly this is because a lot of my dinners are pretty basic. For example: a Sunshine burger on a bun with tomato slices and pickles, some homemade coleslaw, and corn.  There’s often not much terribly exciting to my main meals but the desserts are often more interesting.

Because, to be honest, I prefer to bake over cooking.  I’ve never been one who decorated cakes attractively or did anything fancy, but I’ve always liked to bake.  And when I only have a limited amount of energy (or spoons if you know that analogy!) I’d rather spend what I have on baking instead of cooking.

I was making the transition to vegan baking ok when T’s wheat allergy became apparent and I had to start figuring out both vegan and gluten free baking.  I’ve had quite a few failures and am finally starting to get the hang of this.  It’s as if my recent baking successes have allowed me to feel better about it and have fueled even more successes.  Call it what you will, I’m just glad it’s working!

So on a rainy day spent reading and hanging out on the net I happened upon this really cool blog called vegangela and spent some time perusing.  There are many things I want to try but the one that I jumped up and made was a variation on her Gluten-Free Vegan Chocolate Banana Muffins with Chickpea Flour.  I had all the ingredients but decided I didn’t want muffins again so I made it into cake.

I used soy sour cream (because I had it) and used a garbanzo/fava bean mix.  I baked it in my torte pan (which I love and rarely use) and when it came out of the oven (after baking 40 minutes) I topped it with dairy free chocolate chips.  When they had melted I spread them all over the top.

It made a really beautiful presentation in the pan and out.

We found it a little dry but it was nothing a nice glass of soy milk couldn’t cure!  While a little dry the texture was otherwise perfect so I want to play with a little more liquid/slightly different liquids to see if I can get it to exactly where I want it using just ONE flour!

E spread peanut butter on top of her cake and loved it like that, even for breakfast.  Yum.

2 responses to this post.

  1. This looks so delicious and creamy!

    Reply

  2. Yum, I love how you “frosted” it with real chocolate chips and I love the idea of spreading peanut butter on top. Genius!

    Sorry to hear that it was a bit dry. Was it overcooked? Were your bananas really ripe? Or do you think it was because of the flour mix?

    Anyway, thanks for the shout-outs, and I look forward to keeping in touch! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

