Oh Millet, How I love thee….

I find myself in love.  In love with a grain.

Yes.  I know that’s weird.  But really, I am currently in love with millet.

I have always thought millet was bird food but when T, my 12 year old, had to go gluten free it kept turning up on lists of grains and flours he could eat.  So, recently, I bought some millet at a whole foods in the bins section.  It’s been sitting in a glass mason jar in my pantry and today I decided it was time to try it.  I now wish I had several more jars of it in my pantry!

I used the directions from the Vegan Coach on how to boil millet.  I had about 1.5 cups of millet so I toasted it and then added 3.5 cups of garlic veggie broth to the pan.  Once it was boiling I cooked it for about 30 minutes and then let it sit, with the top on, for about 15 minutes.

While it was cooling I sauteed 4 minced cloves of garlic, one chopped carrot, and 2 chopped stalks of broccoli in 2 tbsp of garlic oil.  When it started to get warm I added a container of Trader Joe’s savory tofu, chopped, in and continued to sautee.  I added most of the cooked millet in with the veggies and warmed it up.

I served it alongside some of my current favorite recipe, the cashew cheese sauce from Gluten Free Vegan Journey.  I make it as she writes but add 1 cup of dried soy milk to the dry mix.  I keep it in the fridge and use rice milk to make the sauce.

It’s not proper for mom to lick the plate so I didn’t.  But I wanted to.

Had I not had flavored tofu I would have added beans and I think it would have worked just as well.

Do you eat millet?  How do you prepare it?  I was very impressed.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’m so pleased you posted this as I was worried it was just me who loved millet! I like it best plain with a little olive oil and a good shake of sea salt or with roast squash, chickpeas and pine nuts. Yum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

