Because one size does not fit all or even most…

I am not an expert on health.  I am just a mom, a wife, and a teacher who has some sort of an auto-immune disorder that still lacks a diagnosis.  (You can see my About me page for the specifics.  They thought it was RA and still think it might be but are not sure due to the fact that I am sero-negative.  My medical treatment is pretty traditional for RA, though.)

The choices I have made for myself are just that, my choices.  I’m trying to do the best I can with what I’ve got.  The problem is that even the experts disagree.  Last year I attended the Take Back Your Health Conference in Virginia.  One of the things that I found both fascinating and difficult was that the speakers are all very different.  From one talk to another completely different information was presented.  This was intentional.  The creators specifically wanted us to have lots of different options because we are not all the same.  What works for one person does not necessarily work for the next person.  We are all different and this difference is precious.

But that definitely highlights the fact that a one size fits all mentality no longer works.  It’s why some of us are seeking alternatives to traditional western medicine.  But that logic would also hold that alternative treatment is also not a one size fits all situation.

I have chosen, for myself, a combined method.  I still take medication but I also have made some major lifestyle changes in order to help me best deal with my auto-immune disorder.   It helps.  I know there are other changes I could (and maybe should) make to my life and I’m doing them slowly.  At my own pace.

The reason I’m thinking about this is because I attempted a juice fast when school got out.  I’ve been talking about it on my RA Vegan facebook, which means people know.  I’ve gone almost three days and while there have been good things there have also been some things I’m a little concerned about.  Nothing awful but enough that I think it’s time for me to stop.

I know I *could* go on.  But *should* I?

And I’m a little worried about saying that publicly for fear I will look like a quitter by those who feel strongly about how long one should do a fast.  Of course, to some of my friends and family just saying I was doing it made me look crazy anyway.

But one size does not fit all.  I’m trying to make the best decisions I can for myself every day.  Good choices are good choices even if they are not the same good choices others make.

It’s hard when you’re public about things you are trying, because then everyone knows when you stop.  I’m glad I tried and I might try again.  But, for now, this is what I need to do.  For me.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by gina on June 11, 2012 at 10:31 PM

    You go Jen!! You’re so right, one size never fits all. Way to go in making the choice that is right for you. We send to much time worrying what others might think of our decisions. You are an inspiration!

    Reply

    • Thanks! I realized it would be easier to just act like everything was fine and move on without commenting, but I felt like it needed to be said. :)

      Reply

  2. Posted by Margaret on June 12, 2012 at 9:12 AM

    Congratulations on giving it a go, then being able to know when it was not right for you and acting on that . Were you intolerant to something you were juicing? I am learning what I am intolerant to, apart from gluten and dairy, and this explains why some foods that I thought would be OK made me feel ill and in pain. Even the juice of veges I’m not intolerant to i normal amounts can upset me when I juice them. Glad you spoke out. I’m not juicing at the moment, but prhaps there are others having similar problems to you who could really benefit from hearing about your experience.

    Reply

  3. Not sure about whether fructose in the absence of fibre is a good idea for everyone, anyway. Although I have the discipline and care enough to do a juice fast, the idea has never sat right with me. I tend to be hypoglycaemic and have trouble regulating my blood sugar at times, I also get migraines, and my diet is quite restrictive already- I think if you take out the allergens and add in the nutrients you need, the body will do the rest. Slowly, and in it’s own time. All the best, Angela. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

