Yellow Squash Chips – Or “Have Aliens Kidnapped my Children?”

I’ve had a lot of yellow squash lately in my CSA box.  A lot.  And I’ve used it in all sorts of ways; Two recent incarnations are here.

That’s chilled  yellow squash soup and summer squash paella.  While contingents of the family did enjoy them, none of them got the response of “When can you make more??” or “The last one is MINE!”  Until tonight.

And it’s the least pretty of the recipes, as well as the easiest.  But this is the one the kids fought over.

Yellow Squash Chips

One to Two Yellow squash, cleaned

Olive oil  (I use spray in an atomizer – You could put some on a paper towel as well)

Coarse Salt

Heat the oven to 225.

Using a mandolin (or a knife with very steady hands – Mine could never do this!) slice the yellow squash very thin.  Spray a baking sheet with some olive oil or rub some on with the paper towel.  Place the sliced squash on the sheet.  They can touch, they will shrink quite a bit.  Spray or rub on a little more olive oil, and then sprinkle on some salt.

Bake for 45 or so minutes.  I’d start checking around 35.  You want them to be just starting to get dark.

The kids, seriously, fought over these.  They said they tasted like potato chips (T is intolerant of potatoes so we don’t get those much here) and T begged me to make more.  This one was a win!

I’m super excited to be part of Allergy Free Alaska’s first Whole Foods Friday!  :)

And, since this is part of my CSA haul, I certainly couldn’t forget In Her Chuck’s What’s in the box? CSA link!

It’s been awhile since I joined Wellness Weekend but I think this one fits!

And how can I resist joining something called Healthy Vegan Fridays?

13 responses to this post.

  1. oooooooh, guess what I happen to have in my kitchen? I’m going to give these a try! Thanks!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Minnie(@thelady8home) on July 27, 2012 at 8:31 PM

    They do sound tasty!!

    Reply

  3. Nice job. I tried to do these in my dehydrator last year and they spoiled. I think they look like they taste better from the oven.

    Reply

  4. I bet you could use zucchini too, it’s in an abundance now and we’re always trying to find ways to use it differently. Can’t wait to try these! So easy!

    Reply

  5. Hello friend!
    First of all… thank you so much for joining me in celebrating the first ever Whole Food Fridays! :) Secondly… I love the idea of this recipe. I would’ve never thought of turning yellow squash into chips. I have yellow squash in my fridge and I’m really looking forward to trying this!
    xo
    Megan

    Reply

  6. Great collection of ideas! Can’t wait to try the chips :) Thanks for sharing and linking up!

    Reply

  7. [...] My Favorites: Bacon Chicken from Shirley @ Gluten Free Easily Yellow Squash Chips from Jen @ The RA Vegan [...]

    Reply

  8. [...] Yellow Squash (Zucchini) Chips from The RA Vegan. Love this idea. Will it get me to love zucchini–yellow OR green? Time shall tell! [...]

    Reply

  9. Thanks for the recipe idea – I tried it last night but I think I needed to cook mine longer. They didn’t get crispy. Has anyone cooked them longer than 45 minutes?

    Reply

  10. [...] easy to make one’s own potato chips like Karina shows here. Or you could not go wrong with these yellow squash chips, which Jen’s kids fought over, if your child’s school starts while yellow squash is still in season. Zucchini chips are another [...]

    Reply

  11. Have some in the oven now! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  12. [...] easy to make one’s own potato chips like Karina shows here. Or you could not go wrong with these yellow squash chips, which Jen’s kids fought over (if your child’s school starts while yellow squash is still in season). Zucchini chips are [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

