Vegan Cookbook Round-Up – The Christmas presents

I should *really* be working on school work but instead I thought I’d go through the new vegan cookbooks I got for Christmas. My extremely sweet husband went to my amazon wish list and said “Yes”!  I’m still reading through them but so far it looks like I’ve got some winners here.

Quick and Easy Vegan Comfort Food by Alicia C. Simpson She has great meal ideas for how to use the different recipes. It’s a mix of down-home type stuff with a California influence. Some good info for beginning vegans as well.

Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar by Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terry Hope Romero From what I have been able to garner, this is THE book for vegan cookies. I have to admit I was pretty excited looking through these recipes. I think black & whites are soon to be made here!

Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz came up many times in my searches so I felt I needed to own this one. Very New York feel to it. I am looking forward to the brunch recipes and the entrees the most.

Today this one showed up at my door, Appetite for Reduction by Isa Chandra Moskowitz (Can you sense a theme here??). This is 125 low fat vegan recipes. Lots of these sound very filling which I need.

And I’m still waiting for this one to arrive, but The Happy Herbivore by Lindsay S. Nixon doesn’t even come out for a few more days. The low fat vegan recipes on her website look amazing so I can’t wait to sit and peruse the book. 

Next time I want to waste time I’ll let you know which vegan & vegetarian cookbooks I already own. I’ve been flirting with this type of cooking for some time (and I LOVE cookbooks) so I do have a few. After Christmas this year I actually went through my cookbook shelves and cleaned out the cookbooks I think I’ll probably never use again. I kept the classics plus some that contain at least a decent number of vegetarian/vegan recipes. For now my shelves look organized. Ask me again in a week; It won’t look that good!

*NOTE I’m new to this and, for the life of me, cannot get the little picture links to show up. I’m sure I am doing something wrong. Give me a day or two and I’ll try to fix it but for now, it’s time to go back to my paranormal romance (Hey, I did fall asleep this afternoon!), a vegan chocolate cookie I took from the freezer, and some almond milk. Goodnight!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa on December 30, 2010 at 2:10 PM

    I love that Mark is so supportive of your needs! Truly a life partner…

    Reply

    • He is pretty amazing! I am known for my “schemes” and this one sort of came out of nowhere I think. Luckily he is supportive and willing to try new things. The one time I cooked quinoa I did not do a good job and he said “never again.” Recently he mentioned that he’d be willing to try it again which really impressed me!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Emily (pickles...) on December 30, 2010 at 9:00 PM

    This is so exciting to me! Vegan with a Vengeance has been my go-to for YEARS, everything in that book is awesome. Cookie jar has a twin Cupcake book – which is just as great. They also recently came out with a brunch book…..and so far it is not disappointing either. Isa and Terry should hire me for marketing. Seriously. Oh also, they actually respond to questions if you email them about recipes – and that really impresses me.

    Reply

    • I felt like I had to decide between the cookie one and the cupcake one. And while I think the cupcake book’s name is cooler (I mean, taking over the world is cooler than taking over my cookie jar), I felt like I might use the cookie one more. I’ve been really impressed with the down home vegan one too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

