Just a little tweak here and there….

Today was day 2 of T’s allergy testing. The results we were expecting (that we were going to need to go completely gluten free) did not arrive. Instead he has mild to moderate sensitivities to whole wheat, barley, oranges & apples, potatoes & sweet potatoes, and pecans & peanuts. None of these are at anaphylactic levels, but they bear monitoring and keeping the levels he ingests to a minimum. After all, we are trying to get him to better health. So we’re going to cut down on our baked goods made with whole wheat flour and look into some other options. Most gluten free baking mixes have potato starch as an ingredient (and high on the list which is written in order from most to least) so we won’t be going that route. We are thinking rice flour and rice based pastas… Hum…. Going to be interesting….

I am learning more and more about how our health is intimately connected with what we eat. I wish I could say that going vegan has erased my RA or that taking these foods out of his diet will cure T of his upper respiratory issues. I’m not that pollyanna of a person. But I am starting to feel that since everything is connected, we need to do the most we can to live the best life we can, which involves good food choices. It hasn’t been an easy change over and probably choosing to make this big shift around Christmas wasn’t the smartest thing I’ve ever done. The kids still grumble (We were in “Big Lots” today buying organic veggie broth when T asked where we were going for lunch. When I answered “home” his response was “Why? It’s not like there is anything good to eat there!”) but we are moving forward. I haven’t gagged or retched after eating but once since starting this journey. (Isn’t it sad that I once considered that simply normal?) My skin looks better than it has in years, and my vocal chords don’t seem to be swelling as much. I’ll take all of that as a win. 2010 saw some major changes in our eating habits. I’m looking forward to seeing what 2011 looks like…

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa on December 30, 2010 at 2:13 PM

    And your skin was beautiful to start with! I look forward to reading about your journey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

