Swollen Ankles and Vegan Tostadas

Today was my first day back to work after break.  I actually slept well last night (because I realized the dumbest thing!  I kept feeling exhausted during the day but wide awake at night.  Then around about midnight on Saturday night it occurred to me that I had been taking my prednisone at night!  What a dumb thing to do!  I switched to mornings and was just fine!) but did wake up thinking I wasn’t ready to get up and dressed at 6:30.  I had my breakfast (and took my meds!), grabbed my lovely packed lunch my husband made (lunchbox info to be coming soon!) and was off to school!

The day was pretty good and I had very little angst at avoiding the European truffles left in the staff room.  When I came home Mark was busy making these incredible vegan tostadas from The Happy Go Lucky Vegan.  I was really impressed with the beans (though they were  a little difficult to mix in the blender).  They had great flavor and stood up well to the other flavors.  On mine I had pre-made guacamole, tomato, lettuce, and soy sour cream.  Yum.

But all through dinner I kept thinking “I think my ankles are swelling” and sure enough, they were!  I suspect it was simply from being on my foot all day for the first time in about 2 weeks.  My wrists look pretty good, and I have my voice.  So we’re going to call the first day back a success.  And hey, those tostadas were GOOD!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kristin on January 7, 2011 at 3:25 PM

    Hope the rest of your first week back went similarly well – and those tostadas do look good!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

