Is it worth it?

E is selling girl scout cookies.  Because I believe that dairy hurts me, I hadn’t planned on eating any.  (I am going to buy some and send them to service members overseas.)

T, who is 11,  has stopped eating wheat due to his recent allergy results.  Since his results were not such that he would die if he ate wheat, he does occasionally eat a bit.  However, when he does he feels awful.  I assumed that he would not eat girl scout cookies because he knows he feels bad when he eats it.  Now, I do know that he is 11 and things are different for kids.  But he said that, to him,  it’s worth feeling bad to eat the cookies.

So this made me think about the response I get when I tell people I have “gone mostly vegan” to deal with my RA.  Often I hear “Oh!  I could never do that!”

So, is it worth it?  I’d be really interested to hear your take on this.  Is it worth feeling bad to eat the things you like or have always eaten?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kristin on January 9, 2011 at 12:40 PM

    Well, this might seem crazy, but I think I would suffer through a lot of feeling bad to eat cheese…I clearly would adjust my intake if it caused me problems but I don’t think I could give it up entirely!

    Reply

  2. What level of pain would you have to experience to say “Never mind” and not eat cheese at all? Just curious! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lisa on January 13, 2011 at 10:44 AM

    I think it would depend on the level of pain and whether or not I could find an enjoyable substitute. I have found that I have less tolerance for pain the older I get.

    Just FYI…I went to Common Grounds for the first time last night and they had bags of organic vegan cookies. Have you tried them?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

