Thanks to the Happy Herbivore. Wow was it good!!

So in the middle of last week I happened to mention on the Happy Herbivore’s facebook page, when she was teasing us by talking about a recipe in her upcoming cookbook, that I couldn’t wait for my cookbook to arrive.  (It comes out 1/25!)  I just figured it was a no big deal comment and she would think “Well, thanks” when she read it.  Instead I got an email saying that I could have the recipe ahead of time if I tried it and blogged about it.  Of course, I figured that when she realized how few people read my blog (!) she’d say “never mind” but instead she felt it wasn’t an issue and sent me the recipe!

So Thursday night was Happy Herbivore’s Enchilada Casserole night!  I am going to post pictures, but I will post them towards the end of this post.  I wish I could take beautiful food pictures but so far no dice.  And I want you to read how amazing this was *before* you see my pictures!

Mark actually made it, as Thursday night is E’s art class night.  But I came home to kitchen that smelled just wonderful!  To make it wheat free we had to make a couple of very minor tweaks, but they were minimal.  This was a wonderfully rich tasting casserole full of ooey gooey goodness.  And if it’s one thing I have missed since going vegan, it’s ooey gooey goodness!

This picture shows the casserole as it came out of the oven, and the next one is my serving.  Mark says I was making noises of happiness while I was eating but I’m *sure* he was making that up!  Even the kids liked it, which is saying something.

And I did take the leftovers for lunch on Friday AND I had the last bit of leftovers for dinner on Friday night.  So wow, it was good.

Going for full disclosure here, I did after eating some, add some guacamole and some vegan sour cream.  This ups the calories and fat grams but, I haven’t had ooey gooey goodness in a long time and I wanted the, excuse the pun, whole enchilada!

(I crack myself up sometimes!)

I can’t wait for this cookbook to arrive at my house!!

3 responses to this post.

  1. I’m so glad you liked it and don’t worry about bad food photos its sooooo hard to take sexy food pics and casseroles make it REALLY difficult!

    Reply

  2. Hi! Just found your blog via HH. I’m also a vegan with RA, so I’m excited to have made the connection. 🙂

    Reply

    • So glad you found me! Were you a vegan before your diagnosis? I still take my meds, but I have found that the swelling decreases when I particularly cut out dairy. I miss cheese but am certainly willing to give it up in order to feel better and function! Love to hear about your experiences!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

