A Vegan Confessional

Forgive me for I have sinned…..

We hosted a birthday sleepover at my house last night.  Small, but five 8 & 9 year old girls can pack a house full of madness.  (Don’t believe me?  My ear drums won’t be the same for at least a week!  They are really good girls but VERY giggly!)  We got pizza for dinner (my favorite, a primavera pizza with no cheese from a small local place) and then we had cupcakes for dessert.  Months ago I won a gift certificate to a small local place at a charity auction.  I bought it specifically to get cupcakes for E’s birthday party.  This was before the days of vegan & wheat free eating had descended on my house.  But a promise is a promise, and E knew she was getting those fancy cupcakes for her party.

(We did send T to his grandparents.  That way he got to escape the girls and eat a wheat free meal he could enjoy without having to worry about the treats taunting him.)

So I unpacked them and gave them out after we sang “Happy Birthday”, but there were some left.  And I kept looking at them.  I kept wondering if I was really missing something; If they were going to be the best thing I had eaten in a long time.  After much deliberation I gave in and ate one.  And you know what?  It was good.  But it wasn’t great.  The vegan birthday cake I had last weekend was better.  There were no bells and whistles and voices saying “You miss this.  You miss this.  Go back to dairy…”  Not a one.  I ate it and thought “Ok.  That was ok.  No need to do it again.”

It is too early to tell if eating the dairy and egg is going to affect me, RA wise.  To be honest, we may never know.  Because I only got 4.5 hours of sleep and all of that time was spent on the floor, lying next to 4 little girls who wiggled and giggled for hours.  I feel pretty rough this morning, but the lack of sleep probably had a direct impact.  Over time I know that having gone vegan and made a concerted effort to feed myself good healthy food is helping me survive this illness and do it well.  (Because surviving, and surviving well are two completely different things!)

After the cupcake I went and fished my chocolate coconut milk ice cream from the freezer.  Because a cupcake needs ice cream, but the regular held no interest.

Time to go eat pancakes.  Mark made them vegan so I can eat them though I can hear the girls happily munching away in the other room, oblivious to the fact that they have no eggs or milk in them.

It’s an adventure….

Leave a Reply

