Yum! Tofu Nuggets!!!

The exclamation points are posted mostly because that is *not* how my family reacted when I told them what was for dinner.  I have them pretty well trained (ha!) to not react negatively when I announce what is for dinner.  So they just looked at me and blandly said “Ok.”  Honestly, though, this turned out well!

I know there is a lot of controversy about how one should freeze tofu.  Should it be done in the package and therefore in water?  Should it be removed from the water and put in a ziploc bag?  And then, how long should it sit in the freezer?  To test this I really should try every method and write down the results, right?  Not me!!  Being the ever practical person I am, I just threw the whole package of extra firm in the freezer.  A few days ago I took it out and put it in the fridge.  Today I drained it and then stacked towels around it to get out a lot of the moisture.

It looked like a big white sponge.  Mark even said that when he got home.  Something along the lines of “What’s with the little squares of sponge?” since I had cut it into one inch cubes.  Using a recipe I found online as a jumping off point I put the tofu in a quick dip of water (which made me wonder “And why did I have to go to all that trouble to remove the water??”  But of course, a little water on the outside is different from all that water on the inside.) and then dredged the little squares in a mix of gluten-free bread crumbs, some garlic powder, and some salt.  (It always takes me at least double and usually triple the amount of crumbs a recipe calls for when I am frying anything.)  I put the squares on a sprayed cookie sheet.  When they were all ready to go I sprayed the top with more spray and baked them at 350 for about 25 minutes.

While there wasn’t much taste, the texture was great.  These really just became a vehicle for whatever sauce we chose to dip them in.  As we sat eating our dinner we discussed how there were many possibilities with this.  T would like them cut into strips.  Mark talked about maybe marinating the tofu before breading them.  So many options, so much tofu to purchase!


Tofu

One response to this post.

  1. I love tofu, especially love it when I marinate it before cooking.
    I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this tofu widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about tofu,Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

