Used Up 2 packages of Tofu! (Rice and Spinach Bake)

I wasn’t completely successful at using up ALL the tofu today, but 2 out of 3 packages is not bad!  Many recipes for silken tofu are for smoothies and/or puddings and since I wanted to make sure I cooked it, those were out.  I settled on a side dish that could be a main dish, and a dessert.

I’m going to save the dessert for its own post (since I told my family it was their Valentines’ Treat!) but wanted to share the side dish with you.

I have loved casseroles as long as I can remember.  And, honestly, one of my favorite food memories as a kid is a baked rice dish.  So when I came across a baked rice dish using silken tofu, I was sold.  This is modified a bit from what I found originally.

Rice and Spinach Bake

Ingredients:

2 cups cold cooked rice

1 small sweet onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped

3 tbsp olive oil, divided

1 package frozen spinach (10 oz), defrosted but with liquid retained

8 oz silken tofu

2 tsp Italian seasoning

salt & pepper to taste

Sliced tomato, optional

 

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Prep an 8×8 square pan for baking (with some spray or a little oil).

Using a blender mix the tofu, 2 tbsp of juice from the spinach, 2 tbsp. of olive oil and a healthy shake of salt.  Blend until smooth.

In a large pan heat the remaining 1 tbsp of oil.  Cook the onion and garlic until starting to get translucent but still a little crunchy.  Take the pan off the heat and stir in the Italian seasoning and some salt and pepper.  Add the cold rice and the spinach to the pan, stirring until most of the clumps are removed.  Add the tofu mixture (I re-blend it once just to make sure it hasn’t congealed any while sitting) to the pan and mix it all together well.  Add some salt and pepper, if desired.  Put it in the prepared pan.

Slice tomatoes and put the slices on top.

Bake for about 25 minutes at 325.  Serve hot.

 

Leave a Reply

