Chewy Chocolate Oat Cookies (Vegan and W/F)

I had high hopes of making a cake today.  I have been craving ooey-gooey baked goods and there aren’t any places locally where I can buy vegan baked goods other than the occasional cookie.  In the end, though, the time commitment to make and ice a cake just wasn’t in the cards for me.  Too much standing and stirring for my sore joints; plus, I am still very fatigued.  So I decided to instead make cookies.  They take less time to both make and bake and when I choose drop cookies they give me almost instant results.  They also travel really well in lunch boxes which is a definite plus!

I’d been eying my copy of  “Vegan Cookies Take Over Your Cookie Jar” for a few days and wondering how easy it would be to make the cookies wheat free.  (T is wheat free, not completely gluten free.  Most of the time it’s pretty much the same, though he can eat oats that are not certified as gluten free without any problems and I know some gluten-free people have a hard time with oats.)

The recipe that eventually caught my eye was “Chocolate Fudgy Oatmeal Cookies.”  Instead of the 1 2/3 cups all purpose flour I used 1 cup white rice flour, 1/3 cup of sorghum flour, and 1/3 cup of amaranth flour, plus a dash of xanthan gum.  I used dried pomegranate craisins instead of cherries, and a few extra chocolate chips to finish off the package.

Baked them for 12 minutes and then let them sit for about 5 on the cookie sheet before I removed them.  We thought they were chewy and fudgy and quite good.  Mark thought they were  a little grainy, but I am still so new to the W/F and G/F baking that it could have been my choice of flours.

I liked them with some almond milk!

One response to this post.

  1. […] Or Chewy Chocolate Oat Cookies […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

