Vegan Dirty Rice (or Wow, I surprise myself sometimes!)

A few days ago I was flipping through “Vegan Planet” and happened upon the recipe for “Not-So-Dirty Rice.”  I read it to Mark and we both agreed it sounded pretty good.  Last night when we were talking about how Mark was going to the library directly after work and wouldn’t be home for dinner I was trying to remember which recipe I had noted.  I started flipping through the cookbook again and, remarkably, I figured out which one it was!

Usually Mark makes dinner; It’s part of his “world’s best husband” role.  At the end of the day I am usually exhausted so he typically handles the after school stuff.  But his grad school work needs attention so I am trying to step up.  I admit to being tired, so I put on some 80s music and cleaned the kitchen to make dinner.

Luckily this was a very easy recipe that was easily adapted.  Because when I opened the refrigerator the green pepper I thought was there was gone, as was the portabello mushroom.  So I made some additions based on what I had.  I also went ahead with the spices.  Often I am worried it will be too spicy for the kids, but then it ends up bland.  This had great flavor with a tiny bit of kick but wasn’t spicy.  I have to admit I was really shocked at how good this was!  I served it with a plate of balsamic tomatoes (literally sliced tomatoes with some salt and balsamic vinegar) and some blueberries.  Of course, the blueberries were bad so we didn’t eat those.  (But I did have to listen to T say “Yuck!  There is something wrong with these!”  Then of course both E and I had to taste them to make sure they were bad!)

My take on Vegan Dirty (ish) Rice

Olive Oil

1 sweet onion, finely chopped

2 yellow roasted peppers in water, finely chopped

2-4 garlic cloves, finely chopped

2 cups vegan burger crumbles

1/2-1 tsp tabasco sauce

1/2 tsp salt (I use pink Himalayan but that’s because I like it)

1/2-1 tsp black and red (a mix of cayenne pepper and regular pepper)

1/2 tsp rubbed sage

3 cups freshly cooked Jasmin rice (or your favorite)

Heat some olive oil in a heavy saucepan.  (I used about 2 tbsp.)  Add the onion and pepper and cook for about 5 minutes or until soft.  Add the garlic, crumbles, tabasco, black and red, salt, and sage.  Mix it well and then cook until it is hot, between 5-10 minutes.  (Mine stuck to the bottom a little but I just scraped it.)  Add the rice and stir well.  Cook until heated through, just a few minutes.  Serve hot.  (Mark liked a little extra tabasco on his.)

I’d venture to guess that this makes good leftovers but we ate it all so I don’t know!

One response to this post.

  1. […] served this next to my Vegan Dirty Rice and I’ve got to admit it was tasty mixed […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

