My new Vegan Mayo

I have to admit something.  This post is for me, not for you.  Ok, to be honest, most posts are for me since I am not highly read.  (*insert laugh here*)   But I try to write with other people in mind.  I want you to have a glimpse of what my journey is like; to see that you can live a happy and healthy life with RA, and to see that eating vegan can be a wonderful experience.  But today, this one is for me.  Because I don’t want to lose this recipe!  The potato salad I made with it was delicious just made and I can’t wait to try it tonight when it has had a chance to sit and meld.  We throw a lot of parties in the summertime around the pool, and I need to be able to find this recipe so I can make all sorts of wonderful picnic foods like potato salad and pasta salad….

Jen’s Vegan Mayo (adapted from the Soy Mayonnaise  recipe in Vegan Planet)

Ingredients:

1 12.6 oz package firm silken tofu

2 3/4 tbsp white vinegar mixed with 1/4 tbsp rice wine

1/2 tsp dry mustard

1 tsp salt (or a little more) – I use pink Himalayan

2 pinches sugar

6 tbsp canola oil

fresh ground pepper

 

Directions:

In a food processor mix the tofu, the vinegar mixture, the ground mustard, the salt, and the sugar.  Turn on the processor and mix well, turning it off and scraping down the sides occasionally.  Add the oil 1 tbsp at a time in a stream with the processor turned on.  After each tbsp of oil turn it off and scrape down the sides.  This is a little time consuming but makes the finished product smoother.  Once all the oil has been added taste, but I found that I needed more salt and some freshly ground pepper.  You can put this in a container and put it in the fridge, or use it right away.

One response to this post.

  1. What a great idea for mayo! I’ve had the vegan mayo from the store but didn’t particularly care for it however this sounds so delish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

