Mango Bean Wraps

This has been a busy spring weekend with people going in all sorts of directions.  T went to a different friend’s home each day this weekend to “hang out” (as he tells me that he is too old to go “to play”).  E had girl scouts yesterday and then hung out with me today.  Mark did school work and yard work and I taxied the kids all over delmarva.  Last night was a celebration of my mother’s birthday which was a wonderful affair full of laughter and food.

So tonight I decided to do an easy dinner more like what we do in the summer time.  Lots of fresh fruits and vegetables plus an easy main dish.  I had some leftover coleslaw (oil and vinegar variety) from my mom’s birthday that I served along with the fresh melon, cut up pineapple, and sliced cucumbers.

For our main dish I made a pot of Mango BBQ Beans from Appetite for Reduction by Isa Moskowitz.  I got some fresh mangoes yesterday and wanted to use them in dinner.  Basically it was onions and garlic sauteed in olive oil with cut up mango, veggie broth, tomato sauce, kidney beans, and spices.  After it cooked for about an hour I took the beans off the heat and added a container of leftover white rice from a take out Chinese meal.  I mixed it in well and then put the top on the pot for a few minutes so the rice could warm up.  We then wrapped the mixture in brown rice tortillas.

We added some mango salsa and it was pretty good.  I think I added too much rice because the bean flavor wasn’t as pronounced as I would have thought it would be.  But I’m trying to use things up and not waste as much food, so all the white rice went it.  I was also very impressed with the brown rice tortillas.  T says he thinks they taste like sourdough bread and we all enjoyed them

One response to this post.

  1. These look tasty! And what a genius way to use up leftover rice, Asian restaurant always give me SO MUCH if I take home leftovers and I never know what to do with it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

