Appetizer Dinner!

Yesterday afternoon teams from all around delmarva participated in a sort of scavenger hunt to raise money for the Village of Hope.  After the adventure one of the teams came over to my house for dinner.  My friend C and I decided to do it easily and have an appetizer dinner.  We both raided our freezers and fridges for things we could serve.  It was a mixed group so there were some meat options, some gluten free options, and some vegan options.

From my pantry I pulled some fritos, and I made some homemade corn chips.  (Basically, I cut up corn tortillas and bake them in the oven with a little salt.)  I had some guacamole, two kinds of salsa, and some frozen naan (Indian bread) that I heated up and and then cut into chunks.  I put out sliced cucumbers and little yellow baby tomatoes, and cooked three recipes.  C brought a vegan pasta salad and some hummus as her vegan options.  All in all it was an appetizer dinner a hungry vegan could enjoy!

My sauteed mushrooms were the easiest thing I prepared.  I just sliced all the little portabellos I had and then sauteed them in some olive oil.  I added some Italian seasoning and a splash of balsamic vinegar at the end.  These were especially good on the naan I thought.

This mushroom dip was my favorite of the two dips, but the one that no one else liked!  It was based on a recipe originally called “Mock Chopped Liver” in the cookbook “How it all Vegan” but I just called it mushroom dip since everyone turned their noses up at even the thought of chopped liver (and they are all omnivores!).

Mushroom Dip

Ingredients

1.25 cups portabello mushroom caps, chopped

1 large sweet onion, chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup walnuts

Salt and Pepper to Taste (I use pink Himalayan sea salt because I prefer it)

Directions:

Add the oil to a pan and heat to medium high.  Sautee the onions and mushrooms until the onions are clear.

While the onions and mushrooms are cooking, put the walnuts into a food processor and pulse until chopped.  When cooked, add the onion and mushroom mix.  Blend for about 30 seconds, adding some salt and pepper.  Chill.

This red pepper dip was a favorite of others who were here (including a girl with dairy and soy allergies which was a win!) though I only thought it was ok.  This makes A LOT so be prepared to have it for awhile.  Also adapted from a recipe in “How it All Vegan”

Red Pepper Dip

Ingredients

1 red pepper, chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

1.5 cups roasted cashews

1/2 cup filtered water

2/3 cup nutritional yeast flakes

1/4 cup lemon juice

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tbsp. Braggs

Directions

Heat the oil in a small pan to medium high.  Add the pepper and sautee until soft.  When soft, put them into a food processor.  Add the rest of the ingredients and pulse at first to mix, scraping down the sides as necessary.  Then turn on for about 30 seconds or until nice and creamy.  Put in a closed container and refrigerate.

Leave a Reply

