Ooh. I’m a recipe tester!

Let me start by saying that I freely admit that I am a dork.  If you know me in real life then you know I speak the truth.  If you are getting to know me through this blog then, believe me, you’ll figure this out on your own rather quickly.  Because I really am a dork.  Some of the goofiest things excite me, and I’m not afraid to admit it!

So when Allyson at Manifest Vegan put out the word that she was looking for recipe testers I got *very* excited.  I tested recipes years ago for a cookbook called “Healthy Foods” by Leanne Ely and enjoyed the experience.  But here was the chance to test for a Vegan AND Gluten Free Cookbook.  Cool!  And I already cook a lot of Allyson’s recipes.  Most of the cakes I’ve made that have turned out the best have come from her. So I sent Allyson a letter but did not figure I’d get selected since I know there were lots of people interested.

I was actually lying in bed when my phone alerted me that I had a new email.  I think Mark was a little shocked that I started yelling “REALLY????” at the top of my lungs when I got Allyson’s email saying I was selected.  A week or so has passed since then, and I’m still excited.  So excited that when I got the link to look through recipes to test today, I started looking immediately.  And since I had water boiling for pasta and was going to make my own sauce anyway, I tried one of her recipes.

Isn’t it pretty?  (Ok, so my pictures aren’t great.  I’m still working on that!)  It was really good.  It was very different from my typical recipe but even T, my picky one, said “This is really good, mom.”

And I made cookies too.

I love it when I open a cookbook and, as I’m looking through I think “I have all those ingredients.  I could make that.”  Well, that does seem to be the case with Allyson’s recipes since I looked at them this evening and had 2 recipes made within an hour.

Every week I feel like I’m getting a little better at handling the whole vegan and Gluten Free thing and I’m excited to try out these recipes.  And as an example for how we enjoyed these?  I couldn’t wait to take a bite!  

Leave a Reply

