Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

I have recently discovered canned full fat coconut milk.  In my pre-vegan days, when I was afraid of fat, I would have shunned such a thing.  But I am getting better at accepting some good fat in my diet.  Plus, to be frank, I miss “creamy” and full fat coconut milk is definitely creamy.

I first used it for a savory meal that I made for my cookbook recipe testing I talked about in an earlier post.  It was tremendous and I can’t wait for this cookbook to come out so ya’ll can share in some of these wonderful recipes!

But while looking at the extra can of coconut milk sitting on my counter and thinking about my son’s recent comment that he has been “craving rice pudding”, I decided to go for it tonight.

I modified a recipe I found on vegweb and gave it my own spin.  I used leftover Chinese rice that was frozen.  I will admit to almost hurting myself trying to break off a “piece of rice.”

I actually, ahem, hurt my hand trying to bang off a piece which is when Mark stepped in to help.  “How much do you need?” he asked.  “About 2 cups.”  He pulled out a chunk and announced “That looks like 2 cups!”

Coconut Rice Pudding

1 can full fat coconut milk (13.5 oz)

1/2 cup plain soy milk (other other non-dairy milk)

1/3 cup organic cane sugar

1/2 cup sweetened shredded coconut

2 cups cooked rice

1 tsp vanilla extract

dash nutmeg, optional

 

In a strong saucepan mix the coconut milk, the soymilk, and the sugar.  Stir and then heat until the sugar is dissolved over medium.  Add the coconut and stir again.  Add the cooked rice and stir to combine.  (If you rice is frozen like mine was, stir until it’s all broken up and defrosted.)  Let cook until most of the liquid is absorbed, though not all.  Take off the heat and add the vanilla extract.  Cool to desired temperature.

We like our rice pudding a little on the dry side.  You could certainly add some soy milk or even some almond milk if you want it wetter.  We didn’t think the nutmeg added that much to the taste, but T wanted it added because “rice pudding is supposed to have nutmeg.”

I put the leftovers into small containers for lunchboxes.  T already took one out of the fridge to eat while Mark and E were playing pool and has already asked me to make it again!  So that’s definitely a win.  But now I realize I am out of coconut milk.  I need to go buy more!

 

 

Leave a Reply

