Summer Goals

It’s official.  I’m on summer vacation.

I packed up my classroom.  I turned in my keys.  And besides a graduate course I’m taking for 6 days in the next 2 weeks, I don’t need to report to a school until mid-August.  Oh, I’ll work this summer.  I’ll go through my supplies and papers.  I’ll start planning next year’s lessons.  I’ll buy more supplies and books.  But it won’t be the first thing I think of in the morning and the last thing I think about at night.

So I thought I’d make some goals for myself and for my blog this summer.  Well, mostly, I’m going to make some goals for me this summer and try to document them on my blog.

When Mark was active duty military they used to talk about the “101 critical days of summer” as being the days between Memorial Day and Labor Day.  I don’t have quite that long, but I figure the approximately 2 months I do have off will be a good time to focus some on me, my health, and the quality of the life that my family and I lead together.

So, here are my goals for summer 2011, in no particular order:

1.  Drink less soda.  I know, I shouldn’t drink any at all.  I started the year not drinking any but slowly drifted back into it.  My goal is 3 or less sodas a week, with a week starting on Sunday.

2.  Post at least 4 times a week.  That will help me “cook more” which was my goal but, in true special ed style, I decided that wasn’t measurable enough!

3.  Take better care of the garden by weeding twice a week.  In the past we would start the gardening season with a bang and then ignore the garden except to reap produce.  But that meant that the weeds were larger than the plants by the end of the season, and we didn’t get as much produce as we would like.

4.  Can at least 3 different times this summer.  Now that I’m over my fear of canning I need to actually do it.

5.  Complete at least 3 mosaic projects this summer.  I love the creative outlet that is making mosaics, but I don’t always take the time to do it.  

I think that’s a pretty reasonable list.  It goes without saying, in my mind, that things like “spend more time with the kids” and “eat more fruits and vegetables” are on my list too, but I didn’t want to quantify those.  My goal is to live the best life possible.  To be as healthy and as happy as I can be.  Isn’t that the goal of most of us?  I am a person with an autoimmune disorder but that is not all that I am.

What are your goals for this summer?

6 responses to this post.

  1. It’s my first day of summer today too!!!!!!!!! YAY US!

    My goals are to spend less time online! As you can see, so far I am not doing well on this 😉

    Enjoy every second!

    Reply

  2. I hope you, too, enjoy every second! My goal is to spend less random time online. Like posting is ok, but just hanging out online is not 😉

    I can’t wait to hear what you do this summer!

    Reply

  3. […]  I don’t drink coffee and I used to grab a diet soda on my way in to work but part of my summer goals was to drink less soda and that developed into a decision to drink no diet soda after quite the […]

    Reply

  4. […] summer vacation is over.  Now I didn’t accomplish all the things I set out to do when I made summer goals on June 11th, but I did do what I decided was my new and improved way of looking at things when I […]

    Reply

  5. […] do I want to accomplish in 2012?  I set summer goals for myself which didn’t go so well.  They had very specific requirements for whether or not […]

    Reply

  6. […] year around now I set some pretty lofty summer goals for myself.  I quickly realized that they were too restrictive and mostly set out to enjoy myself […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

