Junk Food Confessional

I must confess.  If you are local then, yes, that was me sitting in my car in the Food Lion parking lot in Fruitland around 12:30.  Yes, I was wearing my “Hula Girl At Heart” t-shirt and eating snack mix out of the bag.  Yes, I did also have a bag of skittles that I ate promptly after the snack mix was gone.  Does the fact that my beverage was a Perfectly Protein Vanilla Chai Tea make it any better?  Probably not.  Especially since I drank the entire container which, as everyone knows, is two servings.

And the sad thing was, I made and packed a lunch today.  It was healthy.  It was even tasty.  But it was raining and I couldn’t walk and my hands hurt and I didn’t want to go shopping and I was still hungry and and and…

I can give you lots of excuses, and some are even good excuses.  But they are excuses.  And it happened.  So now I have to decide how to deal with it.  I mean, do I beat myself up over it?  Do I feel bad about it and berate myself?  Because I could.  I could also think about the fact that the absolutely adorable hula girl shirt I’m wearing was too tight just a few short weeks ago, so I must be doing something right overall.

There’s the word I think I need right now: Overall.

I’m trying to live as healthy a life as I can.  That means I’m striving for balance.

Balance between being a person with RA and a person who doesn’t want any limitations on her movement

Balance between eating a healthy diet and also enjoying my food

So sometimes it’s ok to slip up, because balance doesn’t mean perfection.  Tomorrow it shouldn’t be raining so I’ll be able to walk.  I’ll also pack a bigger lunch.

Do you ever slip up and make junk food choices??

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by margi on June 20, 2011 at 5:23 PM

    so needed to hear this. trying to convert to better eating habits and have occasional slips, like today. I do beat myself up over it but then remind myself that I must keep going down the better road in hopes that someday it will be the only way I choose.

    Reply

  2. So glad it spoke to you today, Margi. It’s not always easy but the more we try for balance and good food choices, the easier it becomes (most of the time).

    Reply

  3. […] easy to fall into being a junk food vegan.  In fact I’ve written about it twice (here and here) and I have only been blogging about 7 months.  And it’s easy for me to be rather sedentary […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

