When it’s just NOT pretty

Apparently I flunked that mandatory class all vegan bloggers take on making green smoothies.  Because my smoothies are just UGLY.

While I like the taste, I have yet to achieve that beautiful vibrant green color I see so often on the internet.  Mine are usually a dull brown and no one in my family will taste them without me cajoling (or bribing, or threatening.)

It’s not pretty in the blender….

and it’s not pretty in my travel mug.  Actually, this picture makes it look a little greener then it really looked in person.  The blender photo in gray is closer to the true color.

Now, I love the taste of my smoothies, but I wonder if I’m missing something without the beautiful green.  Maybe it’s because I generally don’t use a recipe and instead just use what I have?  Today’s smoothie was an avocado, 2 cups of spinach, a handful of blueberries I needed to use up, a banana, a squirt of agave, and some soy milk.

So I develop questions like:

Am I using too little spinach?

Should I be using different fruit?

Will I ever be able to get my kids (or husband!) to eat this?

I don’t have the greatest blender, so I’m not honestly sure that a whole lot more spinach would work.  As it is I have to add more liquid then I would like or the whole thing stops working (and don’t get Mark started discussing how many blenders we’ve gone through in the last 2 years!).

In the end, I like the way these taste even if they look yucky.  I’m sure if I keep trying I’ll get the kids to eat them.  (Mark is another matter.)  I did have to ask one of my classmates if I had blueberry bits in my teeth, but it was worth it!

Do you make green smoothies?  Do you follow a recipe or use what you have?  Do yours turn out “pretty”?  Do you care?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Jen! I love your blog 🙂

    I, too, make green smoothies every morning! I think the blender is the trick. My blender is bangin’ and they always turn out great! I will admit that I use a little less spinach than you do. Maybe a cup to a cup and a half? I LOVE the combination of blueberries and bananas! I’m trying avocado next!

    Reply

  2. Maria, so glad you like it! And cool that you have even heard of green smoothies, much less that you drink one every day! 🙂 You should have seen Becky & Cathy’s faces when, in a discussion, I said “Well, I do drink spinach every morning.” LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

