Vegan Fears

  I think we’ve pretty well established that I love summer.  Now, the other seasons have their wonderful components as well but the summer is more free.  We swim, we go to the beach, and we eat a lot of  local produce.  It’s pretty awesome.

Another thing that happens a lot in summer is that we both travel places and become a travel destination.  While I’d love to think it is because people want to bask in our sparkling personalities, it could be our proximity to the beach and the pool in our backyard.  But I’m not sure.

Regardless of why they come to visit we often have summer guests.  This is a good thing, since we love entertaining and hanging out with people.

Tomorrow a fabulously fun cousin of mine is arriving for her first visit to our home.  She’s wonderful and I’m excited to see her.  But I’m a little scared.  Why?  Because she’s been a vegan for *years* and what if I do it wrong?  Honestly, this cousin is one of the most laid back people on the planet and I am confident she would simply correct me and we’d move on.  But I’ve been thinking about this for a few days; This idea of “wrong vegan.”

Obviously this bowl of cut-up veggies is vegan.  But I have, on a few occasions, eaten a packaged food that I checked and was confident was vegan only to realize later I missed something and it wasn’t (like gelatin).  I don’t mean that I have accidentally eaten a chicken or anything, I’m talking more hidden ingredients in prepared foods.

In going with my “overall health” theme from this summer I try to learn from my mistakes and not make them again.  Has this ever happened to you?  How do you handle it?

 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by stefanie on July 8, 2011 at 1:50 PM

    We all make mistakes but that is how we learn. As long as you try your best, that is all that matters. I have made mistakes by buying nonvegan food. Luckly, I have non-vegans willing to eat the chocolate bars that have the hidden milk I missed. Just have fun and stick with things that you know will go over well and are easily vegan.

    Reply

  2. Thanks Stefanie! Because there are so few people who eat like I do locally I am considered sort of an expert and I feel anything but expert!! I’m sure we will have a fun weekend and I’ll fill you in on what we eat!

    Reply

  3. Oooh! I’m coming to visit you now. Close to the beach and a pool in the backyard – I think we should be best friends 😉

    I was JUST thinking the same thing today. My hubby and I are going to do a 30 day Vegan challenge (the Engine 2 plan). We were at Trader Joe’s today and I was grabbing items, reading the ingredients on the back, and kept asking myself, “is this Vegan?” or “can I eat that on a Vegan diet?” It’s confusing!! It’s not the obvious things: meat, dairy. It’s the random ingredients that you just aren’t sure of. I guess you learn as you go!

    Reply

  4. Lindsay, I’m looking forward to hearing about your 30 day vegan challenge! The things I have learned to look for are gelatin and lard. Also, a lot of companies post on the bottom of the list “May be exposed to….” because it’s a covering themselves since the equipment processes those things. I feel ok in eating those. But one of the things my cousin and I discussed is that you have to decide for yourself what works.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

