Not its intended use….

As you probably know I’ve been on a pantry challenge lately, using things up.  Sometimes this has been a good thing and sometimes the results have been just plain bad.  Regardless I persevere because what fun is life without some challenge?  (And because these children and husband seem to want food multiple times a day!)  Because of this we don’t have much of any prepared food in the house.  There are plenty of food items but they all need to be cooked which often makes the other members of my family say “There isn’t anything to eat, mom!”

So last night, while making dinner, I went through my gluten free mixes.  I recently stumbled across a bunch of Bob’s Red Mill gluten free flours and mixes at Big Lots of all places.  Actually, I have found off-priced stores to be a great place to search for specialty foods (organic canned goods especially) because these things tend to be more expensive they don’t always sell as well in mainstream stores.  So, when I happened across the Bob’s stuff I stocked up since the price was about 2/3rds of what I pay normally.  I got my regular stuff, but also picked up a few mixes to try.

Since T loves Cinnamon Raisin Bread this seemed like a good idea.  So I put the yeast in a bowl with some warm water to foam while I made dinner.  And nothing happened.  Not a bit of foaming.  I hypothesized that it might be old yeast since I had bought it at an off-price store.  Took out a packet of regular yeast from the freezer and tried again.  Still nothing.  So my hypothesis changed to “yeast hates me” and I put the mix in a container to deal with another day.

But after dinner I started thinking about the mix and the yeast and wondered what I could do with the mix without yeast and suddenly it came to me: Scones!

After an internet search I came across Gluten Free Girl’s Post About making scones.  I used her proportions and technique but modified ingredients to make some pretty good scones.  The kids both said “These are pretty good.  Kind of dry.  Better with butter.”  But, coming from an 11 year old and a 9 year old that wasn’t too bad.

I’m going to list my ingredients but I highly recommend you check out her technique because I think it made the difference!  Using the stand mixer to incorporate the earth balance went a long way to saving my joints.

Cinnamon Raisin Scones

1 package Bob’s Red Mill Cinnamon Raisin Bread Mix

1.5 tsp baking powder

.5 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 stick earth balance, cut into pieces

.5 cups coconut milk (I used So Delicious Regular)

.5 cups soy sour cream

1 tbsp flax meal mixed with 2 tbsp water (for the egg)

2 tbsp organic brown sugar (instead of the egg wash and sugar I just used sugar)

I did forget to score the scones before I put them in the oven, but I just cut them when they were done.  I checked mine and they were done in 45 minutes not the 50 recommended, but be sure to check your oven.

Yes, that is earth balance on the last one.  Sometimes you need to live dangerously!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Looks so good. I love scones!

    Reply

  2. Thanks! My food photo skills are still developing but I’m getting better (and why let a little mediocre photography keep me from sharing??). 🙂

    Reply

  3. Hello, I read your story and find it interesting that you have an autoimmune disease and that eating vegan may help. My sister suffers from ulcerative colitis and has been on prednisone for 15 yrs. I keep trying to get her to adapt a vegan life style but she does not believe that that may be the answer she is looking for. Love your blog and I will keep checking back. My blog is vegan, but does not say “vegan” in the name.

    Reply

  4. Thanks Tracy. It’s tough because, since you can’t do double blind studies on food, there are no *definitive* studies on this. But with all the research on inflammatory foods that is coming out, I suspect there will be more studies in the future.

    I do find some people with autoimmune disorders feel like they have already had to give up so much and they don’t want to give anything else up. I understand that feeling, but do feel like it has made such a difference! I’d rather give up cheese and get my life back, to some extent. It hasn’t been a miracle cure, but it has made me feel better. I am just starting to taper down my prednisone and hoping that it works!

    Thanks so much for stopping by! I’m going to check out your blog!

    Reply

  5. I love scones – what a great idea! And see? Hatred can turn into something beautiful – the yeast hated you and you ended up with scones. It all worked out. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by stefanie on July 15, 2011 at 11:46 AM

    Have you tried adding a little sugar to the water with the yeast. It may just need a little more food to get going. Those scones look great. Im going to have to find time to make some. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

