Putting Up Produce

Earlier this year I tried canning for the first time and I have to say, it wasn’t too bad.  I made canning more one of my summer goals, but I haven’t had the produce to do much with it.  But after being away on vacation for 4 days we came home to find this in the garden.

I thought about doing true canning, but since it is over 100 degrees here I decided I’d fall back on an old standard family recipe that doesn’t require a water bath:

Refrigerated Cukes  

7-8 cucumbers sliced but not peeled.  (I used 5 HUGE cucumbers instead)

1 sweet onion, sliced

1 tbsp. canning salt (or 2 tbsp. coarse sea salt)

1 cup white sugar

1 cup white vinegar

2 tsp. celery seed

Put the sliced cucumbers and the onions in a large bowl  (This time I used a pot).  Sprinkle the salt over the veggies and let them sit for 2-3 hours or longer.  (I ended up leaving them overnight so I put them in the fridge.)  You are trying to have the salt help the cucumbers release their juices.

Mix the sugar, vinegar, and celery seed until the sugar is melted.  Pour over the cucumbers and onions and mix well.

Put them in cleaned jars and store in the refrigerator for up to 10 weeks.

  Obviously I need to get some more large jars!

I wish I could say that we eat these in the fall when the fresh produce is starting to be less plentiful, but they don’t typically last until the end of the summer.  We love them!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sedderss on August 3, 2011 at 8:26 PM

    I love your website! These looked so yummy I decided to make them. The celery seed made the liquid in my batch look a lot different than your photos, and then I saw that in the ingredients you list celery seed, but in the directions you wrote celery salt. Did you use celery seed or salt? Either way, can’t wait to try them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

