Day 1 of Green Breakfast!

How on earth did it get to be August already??  21 days left of my summer!  But the small changes I have started making to achieve that allusive balance are beginning to help.

Today is day 1 of the 14 day green breakfast challenge.

This is what I came up with.  I don’t use a recipe, per-say, but more of a technique.  So I thought I’d walk you through how I made this one.

People who make green smoothies every day will tell you its easy and fast.

Easy?  Yes.

But fast… not if you don’t have a high powered blender.

I would love a high powered blender like a Vitamix or a Blendtec but its not in the budget right now.  So I find ways to work with my basic one.  So far I like this Oster one the best.  (We have gone through about 4 blenders in the last 10 years.  For me, a mid-range one (in the $30 range) seems to work better than a super cheap one.)  If you have a high-powered blender throw everything in at the beginning and let that strong motor do its work!  If not, doing it in stages helps me save my blender.

Today I took an orange I had zested and who’s outside was hard.  I used a knife to just cut the outside off and threw it in the blender.  Then I added a banana and 2 big handfuls of organic spinach.  Right now it looks like a lot but it is going to blend down considerably.  If I had a high powered blender or wanted to spend more time on this I might have used a frozen banana instead since I like the creamy consistency but that takes a long time to blend.

I had some sparkling water so I added it.  Sometimes I’ll use plain water, or almond milk.  Then I blended it.  Since there was a lot of liquid it quickly was drink consistency.

I added the rest of the frozen blueberries and 2 cubes of frozen orange juice.  The frozen stuff gives it a thicker consistency.

After that was mixed up I decided I wanted to add some flax meal, and that 2 more orange juice cubes were in order.  Once I added the blueberries that beautiful green color was a thing of the past and it turned kind of brown.  I then let the blender run for about 3 minutes to break everything down into very little pieces.  I have, personally, not enjoyed the texture of chia seeds in my smoothies but that’s just me.

I filled up this glass 3 times with this smoothie.  It was thinner then I typically like, but I was able to drink it more quickly that way.  Here’s my one piece of advice, though.  If you drink this before work make sure to check your teeth!  Those blueberry pieces stick!

I hope you are having a wonderful healthy day!  I’m off to the eye doctor.  Because of the medications I take I have to have my eyes checked every 6 months to make sure problems are not developing.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I love the challenges you are doing! Such small changes, but they add up to so much! 30 miles in 30 days (I think that’s what it was) and two weeks of green smoothies!! Go you! I think those are great goals and realistic ones. They won’t make you feel terribly stressed out, but you will feel great when you complete them. I will admit that I LOVE my Blendtec. I used to make green smoothies and whole juice in my old blender and it was just NOT the same as they are now. But you are right – making them in steps definitely helps. 🙂 What is your fave green smoothie combo? I just made one with frozen mango, fresh pineapple, frozen banana, spinach, coconut milk ice cubes, and a bit of OJ. It was PERFECT! Sometimes you just find the right combos and other times they don’t quite work 🙂

    Reply

    • Ok Lindsay, you motivated me! I was reading through this comment this morning thinking “Well, I’m not doing that well on the 30 miles in 30 days..” But then I thought “Well! I better do something about it!” and went for a 3 mile walk. So, thanks!!!

      I am seriously considering the Blendtec. It’s the $$. My favorite green smoothie is frozen mango, frozen banana, spinach, OJ, and some frozen peach juice concentrate. YUM. Not all the ones I’ve had lately have been my favorites but I am drinking them all. 🙂

      Reply

  2. […] and I introduced her to the world of green smoothies […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

