Super Easy Slaw

Last month I participated in the monthly blog carnival called “Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free!” with my recipe for vegan/gluten free chocolate coconut cookies.  Well, I had so much fun I decided I needed to participate again this month!

This month Shirley at Gluten Free Easily is hosting with the theme of recipes so simple that no real recipe is needed.  With school starting back up here soon I need all the help I can get!  Especially since in my house its not just the kids who return to school but the mom!

So here is a recipe without a recipe for a yummy vegan and gluten free coleslaw!  

I was inspired to make this slaw because, well, I had a bag of pre-made slaw mix.  Peeling and chopping are tough for my hands most of the time but especially when I am in the middle of a flare (which, unfortunately, I am).  So at times like this have a bag of shredded cabbage and carrots is a good thing.  If you can chop some cabbage and carrots then by all means go for it!

Put the veggies in a bowl.

Add some other things you have.  I like about a 1/2 cup dried cranberries and a 1/2 cup chopped pistachios.  

(OK, I’ll come clean.  I usually just throw a bunch in.  But I had a container left over from last week’s beach trip with dried cranberries in it that I just threw in.  Since I like to keep the amount of fruit and nuts similar I simply measured to see how many cranberries there were and then added the same amount of nuts!)

Mix it up.  Then make a basic sauce.  I use olive oil, apple cider vinegar, a pinch of organic sugar, some salt and pepper.  I stir it up, throw it on top and mix.  Then I typically ponder whether it was enough, and mix up another batch and put it in.  I would approximate that all in all I used about 5 tbsp of vinegar and 4 of oil plus sugar and spices.  If you like it super wet you can certainly add more.  Then mix again and refrigerate.  Voila!  Instant slaw without a real recipe!

This is good as part of a picnic, on sandwiches, or as a side dish.  Super easy and versatile too.  Add in whatever dried fruit and nuts you happen to have and like!

Do you have a favorite easy slaw recipe?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Your slaw looks and sounds fantastic, Jen! I love using those ready-made bags of slaw veggies. 😉 I use them both for slaw and to add some extra crunch and nutrition to any salad. This is a really great entry for Go Ahead Honey-thank you so much for participating! 🙂 Hope we can get a bunch more folks to join in, too.

    Shirley

    Reply

  2. Thanks so much, Shirley! It was funny because I had another non-recipe in mind and then, as I was making this, thought “This will be perfect for Go Ahead Honey!” I love seeing what everyone comes up with.

    Reply

  3. […] (The RA Vegan) sent in the next recipe, Super Easy Slaw. Starting out with a ready-made cole slaw mix (often a lifesaver for those whose hands don’t do […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

