The End of Summer Trip

It’s official.

My summer vacation is over.  Now I didn’t accomplish all the things I set out to do when I made summer goals on June 11th, but I did do what I decided was my new and improved way of looking at things when I decided to be gentler with myself.  I have had a wonderful summer of fun and laughter with some sad moments mixed in.  But I truly believe that life is meant to be lived.  I wouldn’t want to miss out on the sad because that would mean I would have missed out on the good that brought on the sad.

Oh, and I gave up all diet sodas which was definitely a step in the healthy direction.

So it was a good summer overall.

But now it’s done.

Monday I start back to work at a brand new (to me) school in a brand new (to me) position.

But because I figured I might as well end the summer with a bang, we went on a family kayaking trip today.

A group of 10 of us (4 kids and 6 adults) did the Barrier Island Kayaking Trip with Adrenaline High biking and kayaking company.

We met at the Salisbury headquarters around 8 am and got into a van for the hour drive south into Virginia.  There we divided into 2 person kayaks and paddled out to the island.

I have to let you in on a little secret.  I am a *terrible* kayaker.  I’d love to blame it on the RA but I was a terrible kayaker before the RA!  So within 5 minutes of being in a kayak with T we were split up and I got to kayak with the owner.  Now that was much easier!  While we were paddling Stan, our guide, and I talked about the idea of having some kayaking and/or biking tours with full vegetarian and/or vegan menus.  Wouldn’t it be cool to get a group of 7-12/14 friends together and explore the Eastern Shore of MD (only a 2.5 hour drive from the DC/Baltimore/Philadelphia areas!)?  This area isn’t terribly veggie friendly yet so I was thrilled to find one more veggie option.

It was a 7 mile paddle (which is out and back combined) and it took us close to an hour each way.  We saw some small motorboats and some people fishing.  There were some houses along the way but they are for fishing; with no electricity or running water.  

When we hit the barrier island it was like going into another world.  There were a few people but mostly we strolled along on our own.

I have never seen so many shells!

Along with the shells there were horseshoe crabs that had washed ashore.  

There were lots of birds  and I saw hermit crabs in the water!  I’ve never seen them in the wild before.  (Now, I knew they did come from the wild and that they did not just magically appear at the touristy beach stores but I had never seen them before.)

While we were walking on the beach Stan set out a fabulous lunch!  Stan and his wife Rachel were happy to accommodate my vegan needs and T’s gluten free issues.

The spicy homemade hummus was stellar and there were lots of fresh fruits and vegetables.  I ate the hummus with crackers but, in retrospect, should have made myself a sandwich with hummus and cucumber slices.  Doesn’t that sound good??  I had some watermelon and cantaloupe cubes, some grapes, and some sliced cucumber.  Water to drink of course!  And I had some of the gluten free and vegan chocolate chip cookies.  Yum.

After lunch we paddled back to the van and then drove back to our car.  It was a fabulous trip.

I’m a little swollen and I’m just plan sore from the paddling.  But I built in some time for me to recover.  Dinner was take-out tonight and there are NO plans for tomorrow other than getting ready for school on Monday.  I’m learning how to balance (at least a little bit).

So from my family to you, Happy End of Summer!

(I’m blaming that fly away hair on the wind!)  Yes it’s a little sad that it’s the end of the summer,but it’s a chance to move forward and make even more wonderful memories.  I’ll be ready for school on Monday.  (Or as ready as I can be!)

What are you doing to celebrate the end of summer?  Are you or your kids returning to school?  I’d love to hear how that is affecting you!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stanley Shedaker on August 20, 2011 at 10:26 PM

    Jen, What a great write up. We really enjoyed the whole group and it weas a great day. Your daughter and husband made a great kayaking team and i particularly enjoyed my time with you and your son. Summers do come to an end but now we get to to look forward to a great fall. With your new job, new school and positive attitude let’s make it the best fall ever. It was great meeting you and all of yours we have a great deal to be thankful for. Thanks Stan Shedaker CPP

    Reply

    • Thanks Stan! We had a great time. I wish it didn’t take me a whole day to recover, but it was worth it! Hope we can do another trip soon. And I agree that we need to work on making this the best fall ever!

      Reply

  2. We did a Myrtle Beach getaway to celebrate the end of summer here. And yes, I have my 20 year old heading back to UNCW…her senior year there. Tomorrow we will probably go get some fro-yo here at one of our favorite spots….The Fuzzy Peach which for sure means the end of the lazy hazy days.

    Reply

    • Wow. A Myrtle Beach getaway sounds fun! Mark has family near there and we have gone to some of the smaller beaches in NC a few times. How did our children age when we haven’t? lol (My oldest heads to middle school!) Did you go to the Fuzzy Peach??

      Reply

Leave a Reply

