Hurricane Prep plus Pre-Hurricane Baking

Well, it looks like Hurricane Irene is heading right towards us. Typically the East Coast does not get very many hurricanes but this is one of those times when living near the ocean is a tad bit problematic.

We don’t live in a mandatory evacuation area. Less than 2 miles from us the homes on the river are being evacuated. Less than 10 miles in the other direction homes are being evacuated. We are just getting ready to be stuck in the house for a few days.  Because what I’m most concerned about isn’t the time when the hurricane is over us, but the time after when we are likely to be without power for days.

On Friday afternoon when things weren’t even predicted to start until Saturday afternoon I was shocked by how dark the skies were and how full of clouds.

So we are getting ready. We filled all our pitchers with water to drink. (On top of the 2 cases of water bottles we got.)

We filled some big pots with water for cooking if needed.  (We will use the gas grill if, after the storm, we are without power for a long time.)

We even managed (though I’m still *not* sure how) to get one of the cars into the garage.

I brought in my hanging plants and, of course, the metal gecko.  I mean, who leaves the metal gecko outside?  Besides, the Tiki Bar it was hanging from was dismantled and put in the shed.  (For the record yes, my plants do need water!)

So once we were done with everything we felt needed to be done to keep us safe I turned to one of my favorite activities: Baking.

Because if we are without power for a few days and cannot open the fridges or freezers for fear of ruining all the food, wouldn’t it be nice to have some freshly baked goodies?  Now, this is similar to but slightly different from snow day baking.  Basically they both involve baking with whatever you have on hand because you don’t want to leave the house.  But pre-hurricane cooking is for immediate consumption since you are concerned you will be losing power; snow day baking is for immediate consumption plus freezing for lunchboxes.

Last night I noticed a recipe I wanted to try from Jeanette’s Healthy Living for cookies.  They look excellent and I’d still like to try them but when I looked her her baking mix I don’t have all the flours.  And remember I don’t want to leave the house?  So I decided to look for another alternative.

I have some of the cookie flour mix I used for my chocolate coconut cookies so I decided to use that.  I modified a recipe I found in the ever popular “Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar.”

In the end this recipe is sort of similar to both Jeanette’s cookies and the Invade Cookies with my on slight tweak.  I hope you like them!

Chewy Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies With Nuts

2 medium frozen bananas

1/3 cup canola oil

2/3 cup organic white sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup gluten free cookie mix

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1 cup quinoa flakes

1 cup quick-cooking gluten free oatmeal

1/2 cup chopped salted mixed nuts

1/2 cup dairy free chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Prepare 2 baking trays by greasing, spraying, or putting down a silpat.  (Whatever your preferred method.)

Heat up the frozen bananas in the microwave so they melt.  OR leave them out to thaw until soft.

Mash them up in a bowl.  Add the oil, sugar, and vanilla and mix well.  Then add the gf flour, the quinoa flakes, and the oatmeal.  Mix well.  Chop the nuts and add to the mix along with the chocolate chips.  Mix well, using your hands if needed.

Roll into balls and then put them on the prepared pan.  Flatten with your hand.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.  The bottom will be brown but the tops will still be rather light colored.  Place on racks to cool.

I particularly liked mine with a cold glass of chocolate soy milk.

I’m done baking for the night.  My voice is gone which tells me I’ve done enough.  I’ll bake more in the morning until I have a few more things made or until we lose power, whichever comes first.

If you are in Irene’s path PLEASE BE SAFE.  I’ll see you on the other side of the storm!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by stefanie on August 27, 2011 at 7:43 PM

    Stay safe. Hopefully you don’t lose pwer and the storm does not cause much problems. It is a good time for family bounding though.

    Reply

  2. Yep. We’ve been playing board games and cooking together. So far we have power though no home phone. The worst is expected tonight though…

    Reply

  3. […] Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies With Nuts […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

