“What I learned when I almost died” book review

I talk about a lot of things here but, in the end, it comes back to living the best life possible while having an auto-immune disorder.  Obviously this can be extrapolated out; You don’t have to have an AI disorder to understand what I’m talking about.  Balance is important to anyone.

I have mentioned before my love for the library.  Especially in the summertime the kids and I are frequent visitors, stocking up on books about all sorts of topics.  I tend to lean towards romantic fiction but have been browsing the non-fiction stacks this summer looking at cookbooks, gardening, decorating, and crafting books.  I’ve also recently started looking through the new arrivals non-fiction area picking up some interesting finds.  A few weeks ago I stumbled across the book “What I Learned When I Almost Died” by Chris Licht.

Now, I don’t watch tv.  I don’t mean “I don’t watch much tv.”  I mean, truly, I don’t watch tv.  I probably watch 4 episodes of Phinneas & Ferb a year.  Possibly 2 episodes on either HGTV or Food Network.  And I watch the Home Run Derby.  Maybe some Olympics coverage.  But that’s it for an entire year.  So I had no idea that Licht was the executive producer of “Morning Joe” on MSNBC.  To be truthful, I’d never heard of “Morning Joe.”  But the concept of the book spoke to me so I picked it up.

Licht was a high powered producer who had a brain hemorrhage and survived.  There is a lot of talk about famous people and names I really didn’t recognize.  This is not a difficult read, nor is it full of trite platitudes.  What I liked was the idea that while he didn’t give up his career after his near death experience, he decided to do it better.  Not better as in “more hours.”  Better as in “going for things he loved.”  He chose to embrace that lifestyle in both his home life and his work life.  He tried to not let things bother him.  So, he chose balance.

He let go of the anger at having had an aneurysm.  After all, who was to blame?  Who’s to blame for the fact that I have an auto-immune disorder?  There is nowhere to put that anger.  So why not let it go?

I didn’t have any major epiphanies reading this book but it did make me think I might be doing ok.  I might be going down the right path to acceptance and to making good choices for me now.

What have you read recently that spoke to you about your journey whether it be with an AI disorder or with something else?

Leave a Reply

