WIAW – First Day With Students

We survived Hurricane Irene this weekend with lots of wind and rain but no major damage.  Schools had closed early on Friday canceling our school’s open house and leaving us teachers not completely prepared for Monday.  To be honest I expected we’d be closed on Monday but there weren’t as many places without power as had been predicted.

So Monday morning found me up and ready to GO.  I had to get T ready for MIDDLE SCHOOL.  Sorry.  I had to shout for a moment.  I still can’t believe he’s in middle school.

He’s not thrilled with me taking this photo, as you can see!  Got him off on the bus.

Then it was time for breakfast!    2 pieces of whole grain toast with dessert hummus.  Wow.  And a glass of almond milk.

Then it was time to get E ready for her first day of 4th grade.  In the interest of fairness I should shout here too.  FOURTH GRADE!

She is much more interested in having her picture taken!

Drove her to school and then drove myself to school!  I spent my morning running around getting kids settled.  As someone without their own classroom I get to help kids go where they need to go.  This new school has multiple levels and no ac so I’m a-running all over the world and sweating.  (As an aside I’ve decided not to wear makeup until it cools down because it was just wasted as it ran down my face!)  I was drinking homemade spicy decaffeinated iced tea out of a reusable water bottle but didn’t get a picture.

I had my first lunch duty in 13 years (!) and worked on my schedules with the other special ed teachers.  Lunch was in my office.
  That’s a quinoa and lentil pilaf with pistachios and prunes from Vegetarian Times September’s issue.  Fresh watermelon and a peanut butter chocolate chip Larabar.

Then more running around the school until it was time to go home.  As I came in the door I asked Mark “Any way dinner can be ready in the next hour?”  I was *so* hungry!!

Dinner was gluten free pasta with red sauce and some vegan sprinkle cheese plus a spinach salad with pine nuts and dried cranberries.  The dressing is a vegan ranch.  If you loved ranch pre-vegan you might really like it.  I was out of my favorite vinaigrette so I had some.  Not my favorite but ok.  I had water to drink with dinner and then, at some point, a glass of lemonade.

Put the kids to bed, did some planning, etc.  Then I realized I was still hungry.

 Those are Stacey’s plain pita chips with some artisana cacao bliss plus a reading book that I’m planning from.  I started with dipping the chips into the cacao bliss, but then broke down and got a spoon.  I probably had 10 chips and 1.5 tablespoons cacao bliss.  It was funny because, in the past, I would have eaten a ton of it.  I just ate enough to feel satisfied and then put it away.  Felt good to be reasonably in control.

It was a good first day with students.  I was tired at the end of the day, and very mildly swollen, but nothing a good night’s sleep couldn’t handle.  I’m excited about this school year!

4 responses to this post.

  1. those peanut butter chocolate chip flavoured larabars are my favourite! they are to die for!

    mm i really must try out dessert hummus, i have seen it around the blogosphere and it really sounds impressive (and delicious!)

    i’m glad you survived the first day back with your students! hopefully its the start of a fantastic year!!

    xoxo ❤

    Reply

  2. Posted by stefanie on September 2, 2011 at 6:34 AM

    Sounds like it was a busy first day. The first few days are always the hardest but it gets easier. Enjoy your friday. Can’t wait to hear how your first week went.

    Reply

    • Thanks Stefanie! It was a really good first week. I’m hoping to feel up to posting tomorrow. Tonight dinner was cereal and my toes are swollen. Time for bed! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

