WIAW – Getting in the Swing of Things

I had big plans this week.

  • I was going to chronicle my food on Sunday.  Then on Monday.  Tuesday?  Nope.  Happened on Wednesday.
  • I was going to write a post about all the things I have been doing with chickpeas lately.  Hasn’t happened yet.
  • I was going to photograph an entire week of lunches for the Vegan Lunchboxes for Adults Blog Challenge.  My excuse here is “why do it on a 4 day week?  Wait for a 5 day week.”  The truth is that I forgot to bring my camera to work on Tuesday and my phone was dead so I couldn’t take pictures.

Instead I took T to the immediate care clinic for his sprained elbow.  I’ve been adjusting Skyler to her new home.  I’ve been killing fruit flies.  And I’ve watched E pull out her own tooth.  All while adjusting to life at a new school that does not have air conditioning but is toning my thighs and butt with all the up & down stairs I’m doing.  My motto remains:

It is never boring around here.

So Wednesday morning dawned at my house.  E and Skylar were asleep with me in my bed.  (Mark leaves for work by 5:15 and sometimes E ends up in my bed without me even knowing it.)  T was asleep in his bed.  Mark called to wake me up and I groggily pulled myself up to get us all ready.  It involved quite a bit of cajoling T to get ready and herding of Skylar while saying to E “you HAVE to get up!”  T’s arm really hurts so I know it’s difficult but life must go on.  I had him out the door around 7:05 and to the bus stop.  Skylar and I walked around the cul-de-sac a bit so she got some walking time while we waited for the bus.  As soon as T heard the bus Sky and I had to be scarce and pretend we didn’t know him.  Ah the joys of having a tween boy!

Then I had time for breakfast!  2 pieces of whole wheat toast with peanut butter and a glass of almond milk.  Yum.

As we were walking out the door E announced that she was tired of wiggling her loose tooth and pulled it out!  Remember I said never boring!

Dropped her at school and then hit the ground running.  I dropped my briefcase and lunchbox in my office and then went to work with kids this morning, never even stopping to turn on my computer.  I did drink a bottle of water at some point.  When lunchtime rolled around, though, I was hungry.

I made a pan of Gardener’s Pie over the weekend to take for lunches.  It’s really good and very filling which helps me get through a whole day.  I also had cut up fresh pineapple and a nectarine.  There are 2 wheat free fig newtons in a bag that I ate later in the day.  (Lately lots of things have been on clearance in the health food sections of my local grocery stores, these cookies being one of them.  While the deals have been nice it is actually sad since this means the store is discontinuing them.)

I worked all day and then went to see my counselor.  Yes, I go to therapy.  When it was finally found that I had an auto-immune disorder my reality changed.  She helps me work through that.

My kids were with my parents (their Wed night thing) and Mark was working on his schoolwork so when I got home dinner was on my own.  I decided to combine this chock-full-of goodness salad  with this veggie burger  to make

The dressing was supposed to be thousand island but I couldn’t find the pickle relish.  It was delicious none the less.  1 cup of vegan mayo.  1/4 cup ketchup.  1 tbsp rice wine vinegar.  Mix.  (This was not all the dressing!)

Lots of water consumed today but otherwise nothing else.  It’s funny how I still crave soda.  I look at it longingly and walk past.

After putting the kids to bed I sat around thinking “I’m still hungry.”  I was really thinking of banana soft serve but I have to admit it seemed like too much work.  I was looking up some work things online and the idea of pulling out the blender just wasn’t appealing to me.  So I finished the day the way I started it, with a glass of almond milk.  No picture since you saw it this morning.  Hope your day was great!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Love the salad idea. And I must try your vegan Thousand Island! My grandmother used to make her own (non-vegan) 1000. I’d love to recreate a healthier version. The tooth fairy has been busy at our house, too. Two front top teeth in two days here!

    Reply

  2. Thanks! The original thousand island recipe also called for sweet pickle relish and some spices. This one was really wonderful and creamy on its own. (I’ve always been a bottled dressing girl but I ran out and have been thinking it might be just as easy to make my own!)

    Reply

  3. sunshine burgers are my favorite, theyre so delicious!

    Reply

  4. Wow, that’s a full day! I love that gardener’s pie recipe. I just looked it up and it sounds awesome! I bet it would be good topped with sweet potatoes, too!
    I think it’s great that you go to a counselor. I wish my Mom would do that, as her frustration with her multiple sclerosis and RA often results in taking it out on my father. I think having someone to help her sort through her feelings would be really helpful. So I commend you for doing that 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

