Summer is Over and I’ve Been MIA, Plus Finding Beautiful

Summer’s over and it’s been an adjustment.  It’s so much easier for me to write consistently when I’m home most of the time and my hands are not hurting.

I know I’ve been absent a lot lately and I apologize.  I love interacting with people online and, obviously, this is the main way I do it.  Things have been crazy but, to be truthful, things are always a bit crazy here.  I’ve been posting a bit on facebook.  And I’ve been tweeting a bit.  But I haven’t been writing posts.  And I think there are a few reasons for that.

Probably the main thing is that I’ve been concentrating on getting through the first few weeks of school.  There hasn’t been much cooking going on, and I’ve been tired.  My RA has been in a minor flare and I’ve been without a full voice for about a week.  I haven’t felt terrible, but it always takes energy away from me when I’m dealing with a flare whether minor or major.

I actually have 5 posts begun but none completed.  And then it occurred to me that the Vegan MOFO (The Vegan Month of Food) starts Oct 1 and I have committed to about 5 posts a week.  Wow.  So I decided to bank posts to ensure I had enough since I am super excited about being a part of a community of bloggers all celebrating vegan food.  Here are a few pictures to entice you with what I will be posting about in the month of October!

   (While pretty, this does show me that I need both more colorful dishes and to make food that’s not all the same shade!  LOL)

And now I need to admit something that makes me feel a little, well, childish.  I haven’t written a post to wrap up the Vegan Lunchboxes for Adults Challenge because only one person wrote a post and I think, to some extent, I felt bad about it.  I never thought it would generate a lot of posts, I write a microscopically tiny blog!  But I guess I thought there would be 3 or 4 entries, not just one.  NOW!  Here’s the thing.  That post has gotten the most traffic of any of my posts recently, so it is making people think about packing healthy lunches and that was my goal.  Not generating a lot of traffic or anything.  Deciding to host a blog carnival in the fall right after I started back to school may not have been the smartest thing I’ve ever done.  I haven’t had the energy to devote to it that I would have had in the summer.  But I’m one of those people who re-hash and re-hash things in their minds, thinking of how I should have done it differently; how I should have done it better.

I need, to use one of my favorite phrases, to put on my big girl panties and move on.  I need to learn how to promote things better.  I need to figure out how to attract more people to things I host.  I need to write the durn blog post regardless.  And I need to not let myself feel bad about this sort of thing.  Particularly since one of my themes is taking the best care of me I can.

Maybe I need to refocus my priorities, remembering why it is I do this anyway which is to help me deal with the changes in my life.

I guess what I’ve learned is that I still have a lot to learn about blogging, about managing my RA, about taking care of myself, about balancing work and home, and apparently about food photography.  (Though I could have told you that last one!)  Summer is over so this blog is different than it was then.  I need to work on understanding my limitations while exploring how to best communicate.

Yes, summer might be over but today I saw this beautiful butterfly on my deck.

Summer is over but there are still beautiful things to come.  I need to be ready for them, no matter how they come.  And I need to learn to define beautiful in different ways.  If anyone thought more about packing a healthy lunch then I did what I wanted to do.

I look forward to Vegan MOFO and all the exciting food that October is going to bring.  I hope you find beautiful in some way this fall.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I did read that blog post but I don’t pack lunches anymore as I am disabled and stay at home now all the time. But…don’t take it personally about other bloggers or people not chirping in. Could be a multitude of reasons. The good thing is people are reading it and responding to the one other poster. Perhaps there is interest but no one has their own ideas…just yet anyway. You will find your groove as the movie goes on blogging.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Linda on September 26, 2011 at 7:35 AM

    I just recently discovered your blog and bookmarked it because your “lunches” articles caught my attention. However, I also am not packing lunches and do not have a blog, so I didn’t feel I had a lot to contribute. I was most interested in what you were writing, however.

    Reply

  3. Thank you both! I am too sensitive sometimes and I need to just keep doing what I’m doing because it helps me and others. Look for more posts soon!

    Reply

  4. […] Tonight had me thinking, intensely, about how to balance.  This is definitely not the first time I’ve talked about balance.  It’s a category I choose from when tagging my blog and it gets chosen quite a bit.  I’ve even written several posts specifically about balance: Pain Relief and Balance, More Balance and Dessert, and Summer is Over and Finding Beautiful. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

