Yay! Vegan MOFO!

I went vegan right around Thanksgiving last year.  I sort of jumped over vegetarianism and went straight from being an omni to a vegan without warning or alerting anyone.

“I think I’m going to cut down on meat” turned in to “I’m not going to eat any meat” the next day and on the third “I think I’m going to give up all animal products.”

My family was incredibly supportive but aside from some cousins not populated by vegans or vegetarians.  So I spent a lot of time on the net looking at recipes.  And I found a lot of references to the  “Vegan MOFO” that had just ended.  It didn’t take me long to realize Vegan MOFO meant Vegan Month Of Food and that it was a celebration of all the wonderful vegan food out there.  I read a bunch of posts but didn’t think anything of it.  I certainly didn’t think I’d ever participate!

But here I am, almost a year later.  I write a tiny little blog that brings me happiness and has created a small community of people who talk about food and health.  I’ve lost some weight; I’ve gotten nicer skin, and I am much better able to manage my auto-immune disorder.

                                                                            December 2010

                                                                           June 2011

I’m thrilled to be able to share some of the things I’m learning about and enjoying and to learn about what others are doing.

I am committing to 5 posts a week about vegan food during the month of October.  But the other things in my life (my family, my job, and the RA) don’t go away for October.  So I’ve tried to do some things to take care of me while participating.  I’ve already written some of the posts and I’ve got some started that I just need to finish.

No theme for me other than my normal one:  Eating healthy and taking care of myself as much as I can; Asking for your help for ideas and suggestions!

I look forward to a wonderful month of vegan food!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Great story, mine is similar, just over a year vegan. Keep up the good work.

    Reply

  2. Just learned of your blog on a twitter RT from RAwarrior. I have been trying to eat healthy most of my adult life. (didn’t do so good as a kid) I was raised on southern cooking. It was all my mom/grandmother knew being from the south. We had desert at every meal; seconds of desert if you were good. So I was used to something sweet after a meal. I think I was addicted to sugar; I mean if you can be addicted to sugar. I gotta admit I am doing well cutting back on sugar, but meats are a little harder to give up.I have eliminated most of the red meat though once in a blue moon I will get a hamburger. I have felt better since not eating so much red meat.

    Reply

    • Camille, I think it’s a process. We naturally gravitate towards what we know. Even though I am vegan I have not done as well as I would like on eating un-processed real food. And I need to work on the sugar. I think any changes towards a healthier way of eating help us feel better.
      In reading your comment I specifically thought of a cookbook I have called “Vegan Comfort Food” by Alicia C. Simpson. She writes some blogs including http://theladyandseitan.com/ where she veganizes Paula Deen’s recipes. I don’t know if any of this would appeal to you but thought it might give you some ideas if you are interested. I am so thankful to RaWarrior for helping those of us fighting to be as healthy as we can despite our illness connect. Thanks so much for commenting!!

      Reply

  3. Posted by stefanie on October 1, 2011 at 4:53 PM

    I look forward to reading your posts. It is going to be a great month. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I just heard about mofo a week back.. we started transitioning late last year and the blog went only vegan couple of months back.. so i am just learning all the new substitutions.. ways to veganize things and so on.. it is going to be a great month.. i am keeping november to read through the blogs and try others recipes.. to give me time to focus on my posts this month! Take care!

    Reply

  5. […] to be back.  And what an awesome time to be back: Vegan MOFO (The Vegan Month of Food)!  In my intro to this month long extravaganza I talked about how I am still sort of shocked to be participating. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

