Grab A Food #1: Prunes!

I don’t tend to be a complete planner.  A mild planner maybe; I get the basics planned out and then I leap forward.  So when it came time to think of Vegan MOFO it wasn’t natural for me to plan a theme.  But as I got closer and closer I decided I wanted to do a minor series this month that was different from what I normally do.  Since I feel like I am in a constant pantry challenge mode I decided to do (drum roll please….)

GRAB A FOOD!

Basically I am going to randomly (remember – not completely planned!) tell one of the kids to go in the pantry and choose an ingredient we don’t use on a regular basis.  Then I will use that ingredient to make something that they must try.  I have long subscribed to The Pantry Principle (that Amy Dacyzyn talks about in her “The Tightwad Gazette” books).  Basically I don’t buy food for specific recipes but buy staples and then things as they go on sale.  It worked great when we had very little money but now that things are a little more comfortable whenever I see something cool and/or gf on sale I seem to snatch it up which leaves me with lots of things I don’t use often.  Since the kids often complain about it I decided to involve them in this.  To begin with I told E to go choose something.


She came back with prunes.  “Let’s get rid of these, mom!” she said.  “Prunes are yucky.”  So I set off to prove her wrong plus use them up.

I modified a recipe from food.com into 2 different recipes.  Basically I feel like the dry ingredients should stay the same and the wet can be played with.  That said, feel free to play around with this recipe.

GF Vegan Bon-Bons Version 1

1 cup prunes chopped small

1 1/4 cup almond meal

1/2 cup dairy free chocolate chips

1/2 cup sunflower seed butter

1/4 cup plus 2 tbsp maple syrup

1/2 – 1 cup chopped pistachios

Mix all the ingredients except the pistachios together.  It will be thick.  Roll into small balls.  Roll into the pistachios and then plate.

The kids and I like them; Mark did not.  I think they would be better with almond butter or peanut butter.  (T can’t eat peanut butter and I was out of almond.)  But the kids went back for seconds.

I sat there looking at them and thinking “I’ve got a whole cup left of prunes….” and then I thought about some other things in my pantry and fridge.

GF Vegan Bon-Bons Version 2

1 cup prunes chopped small

1 1/4 cup almond meal

1/2 cup dairy free chocolate chips

1/2 cup Artisana Cacao Bliss (Coconut butter mixed with cacao)

1/4 cup ficoco spread (fig and cocoa spread)

2 tbsp maple syrup

1/2 – 1 cup chopped pistachios

Mix all the ingredients except the pistachios together.  It will be thick.  Roll into small balls.  Roll into the pistachios and then plate.

Note:  We tried to roll them in shredded coconut but we didn’t like the sweetness on the outside as much as we liked the salty of the pistachios.

We thought these were really good.

These would be a nice addition to a dessert tray and will be something my kids (and me!) take in their lunches this week.  Healthy, sweet, and a great use of prunes!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by stefanie on October 2, 2011 at 7:02 PM

    What a great idea for a series of posts. It seems the best dishes come from ingredients that were thrown together. Those bon bons look good and versatile.

    Reply

  2. Thanks Stefanie. We really like them. 🙂

    Reply

  3. […] the Forbidden Rice Salad I picked up on my health food store circuit this weekend plus some of the Vegan Truffles I made with the chocolate coconut […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

