WIAW – 1st week of Vegan MOFO

I’ve been absent from What I Ate Wednesday for the last few weeks because, to be truthful, I kept forgetting to photograph my food!  My life has been on fast forward and I would find that I would get to the end of the day having taken pictures of about half my food so it just wasn’t practical to post.  But I’ve missed it!  So glad to be back.  And what an awesome time to be back: Vegan MOFO (The Vegan Month of Food)!  In my intro to this month long extravaganza I talked about how I am still sort of shocked to be participating.  But it is helping me think even more about what I eat and introducing me to some wonderful blogs.

Breakfast was pretty typical these days.  Peanut butter and a banana on whole grain toast.  I will admit that the glass of juice is actually Orangina.  I know.  I know.  But it’s an old addiction from my teenage years.  I grew up going to French language schools in the US and well, I developed a love.  I haven’t had it in years but found a bottle over the weekend on my health food store circuit and have been nursing it for a few days.  E has discovered it and loved it so, to be perfectly honest, I actually finished it off this afternoon.  Bad RA Vegan.  No soda like products!

The school where I teach is in a very low income area.  One of the programs is that on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays the kids get a snack.  It is always a fruit or a veggie.  When there are extras I sometimes get offered them.  So today’s snack:

(Anyone know what they are sitting on?  If you do you are a teacher and probably a special ed teacher!  Dolch word cards.)

My lunch was sort of spaced out.  Before my lunch duty I wasn’t very hungry and so I had an apple and some cherry tomatoes from my garden.

After lunch duty I needed a little more so I ate the last of the Forbidden Rice Salad I picked up on my health food store circuit this weekend plus some of the Vegan Truffles I made with the chocolate coconut butter.

As I went to pick up my next group I stopped by the teacher’s lounge.  There had been a committee meeting in the morning and there were leftover refreshments.  I nabbed an apple and was chomping it when I picked up my kids.  “Where did you get that apple?”  Being the consummate professional that I am I said “I found it.  On the floor.”  After the “ewwwwwwwwsssss” finished up I told the truth.  No photo but it was good.

Ran through the rest of my day as usual.  Dropped a friend at the car dealership to pick up her car and then came home to a sick child but a clean kitchen where I decided I should cook dinner.

A cup of tea in my favorite mug helped get me through dinner prep.

And a good dinner it was!

I guess I should admit that I had 2 pieces of quiche along with that tomato.  And then E and I sat around snacking out of the bowl of pears.

In looking back this is the most fruits and veggies I’ve had in some time.  Pretty good, actually.  More fruits then veggies and I know I should tilt the tide in the other direction but oh well….

At the very end of the day I got super hungry so a small bowl of cereal and soy milk hit the spot.  No pic but it was good!  I’ve been trying to get away from super sweet cereals and chose an organic fruit sweetened cereal.  Moving towards health one step at a time.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by survivingcandyland on October 6, 2011 at 5:27 PM

    Grapes in a bag. Those are cute. I need those for my inner child.

    Reply

  2. Posted by MHW on October 6, 2011 at 8:47 PM

    Looks like you’re doing a great job. Those truffles look soooooo good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

