Apples. APPles. APPLES! Fun with Slow Food Delmarva…

Yesterday when I talked about the things that have changed for me since going vegan one of the things I was getting at was that it has made me think about food differently.  I’ve long considered myself a foodie, but going vegan has taken me to a different level: I actually do something about it.

One of the things I have done is to join my local chapter of Slow Food.

From the Slow Food Website:

Slow Food is an idea, a way of living and a way of eating. It is a global, grassroots movement with thousands of members around the world that links the pleasure of food with a commitment to community and the environment.

I’ve long heard about Slow Food, and I’ve followed them in the news but I’ve never joined before.  But now is a time of action (doesn’t that sound good!) and so I joined a few weeks ago and today went to my first event, an apple picking party at T S Smith & Sons in Bridgeville Delaware, about 40 minutes north of my house.

As per the invitation we packed a lunch.

Cold vegan lasagna for me plus carrots and cucumbers, pretzels and blueberries.  And all the apples we could eat!

We took a hayride.  We walked around.  E did crafts including carving stamps out of apples and painting a pumpkin.  And we talked to people about healthy sustainable food here on Delmarva.

The apples were wonderful and the cider was phenomenal.  E even said “I never realized how good an apple could really be.”  And this is not a child who has not eaten fresh food before!  But I guess she’s never gone to pick apples.

T S Smith & Sons is one of 2 apple orchards in Delaware.  They also grow peaches, kale, broccoli, cauliflower, asparagus…. etc and they go to some of the local farmer’s markets plus have their own farm store.  The man who drove the tractor is one of the Smiths.  T S Smith was his grandfather.  He spoke about the underwater irrigation system they are using that conserves water and the need to bring more apple varieties to the East Coast.  It was a beautiful day to live “on the shore” as we refer to it around here.

I look forward to more events with Slow Food.  If you’re not a member of your local chapter why not see if there is one?  Being part of the action can be wonderful.

And after we were done picking apples we drove across the street to indulge in one of my favorite pastimes, thrift shopping.  Lo and behold I found a set of 6 beautiful glasses.  Just perfect for my apple cider!

7 responses to this post.

  1. I didn’t meet many people, but it was my first Slow Food Delmarva event too – sorry I missed you! Which did you like better, the Black Twig or the Stamen? I’m a great fan of Black Twig so far, and the cider is to die for. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I am having to ration my cider or I would have consumed it all by now! I was going to say the Black Twig but then I decided it would be like picking between my 2 children. They are both wonderful varieties. I’m too tired tonight to do much with them but plan on cooking and baking with them this week.

    I was there pretty much the whole time so we probably said hello! So glad you came to your first Slow Food Delmarva event too. I’m excited about what is happening with this group. How wonderful would it be to see more and more like this on the shore?

    Reply

  3. It was the first event for me, too, and my granddaughter and I both had a really great time! I’m now poking around Amazon, trying to figure out which apple peeler/corer to buy!

    Reply

  4. Posted by stefanie on October 10, 2011 at 3:57 PM

    That sounds like fun. What a great way to spend time with family and friends.

    Reply

  5. […] of Justin’s chocolate hazelnut spread on whole grain toast with some of the apple cider I got apple picking.  Then off to a day of teaching.  The fruit/veggie snack in the middle of the day was apples and […]

    Reply

  6. […] TS Smith & Sons orchards in Bridgeville, DE.  You can read about my apple picking experience here.  This past Sunday I spent several hours enjoying one of the best potlucks ever at the annual […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

