Sweet Potato Cake With Cream Cheese Icing

In my trek through Baltimore yesterday I got a piece of sweet potato cake at The Land of Kush.

It was tangy and sweet and ooey gooey and I loved it.  So tonight when I found myself alone in the house with more dirty laundry then any one family needs, I decided to try and recreate something similar.  I wasn’t going for exactly the same; Just close.

I’m happy with what I came up with!  This one is not gluten free but is obviously vegan.

Jen’s Sweet Potato Cake With Cream Cheese Icing

Cake

1 sweet potato

3 cups white wheat flour

3/4 cup organic cane sugar

3/4 cup coconut sugar

1 tbsp baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon

1.5 tsp ground ginger

3/4 tsp ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp sea salt

1.5 cups apple cider plus 2 tbsp apple cider

1/2 cup melted coconut oil

2 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

Wash the sweet potato well and pierce with a knife.  Microwave for 5 minutes on high on one side.  When the 5 minutes are up turn to the other side and microwave for 5 minutes on that side.  Let it cool and then put the pulp into the bowl of a food processor and puree.  If it is too sticky add the 2 tbsp. of apple cider and puree again.  Set aside.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl combine the flour, sugars, spices, and salt.  Mix well.  Add the 1.5 cups cider, the sweet potato you had put aside, the oil, vinegar, and vanilla.  Mix well.  Put it in a 9×13 oiled pan and bake for 30-40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool.

Icing

1/2 cup earth balance

1 8oz package tofutti cream cheese

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups powdered sugar

Mix the earth balance and cream cheese in the bowl of a stand mixer (or use an electric hand mixer).  Blend until very mixed, close to 3 minutes.  Add the vanilla and mix.  Then add the powered sugar and mix until well combined.  When the cake is cool frost, cut, and serve.

You could also eat it from the pan or, like in our house, stick a spoon in the icing and run off with it.

A little cinnamon on top is pretty too.

Traditionally there is more powdered sugar in icing than what I used but it was honestly all I had and we loved it this way.  Yum.

Since T is allergic to sweet potatoes I decided to go ahead and make this one non-gluten free.  He was *not* happy with me though and wants me to make him a gluten free pumpkin version with the same icing as soon as humanly possible.  He’s the one who tried to abscond with the rest of my icing!  I’m thinking this icing on gluten free cinnamon rolls would be stellar too, and Mark wants to try it on gingerbread.  Guess I need to go buy some more cream cheese!

4 responses to this post.

  1. This looks delicious!! I love love LOVE anything with cream cheese frosting! When I have a free moment, I’d love to try and make this! 🙂

    Reply

  2. thanks Lindsay! It really is delicious! If you make it I’d love to hear how it turns out!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. […] About « Sweet Potato Cake With Cream Cheese Icing […]

    Reply

  4. […] week I made Sweet Potato Cake With Cream Cheese Icing like the one I had at The Land of Kush.  Since T is allergic to Sweet Potatoes along with wheat I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

