Gluten Free Pumpkin Mini Cupcakes With Cream Cheese Frosting

Last week I made Sweet Potato Cake With Cream Cheese Icing like the one I had at The Land of Kush.  Since T is allergic to Sweet Potatoes along with wheat I figured that I’d just forego the gluten free baking and make that one with wheat.  While the end result was good T was not happy with me.  Now, I should have thought about the fact that he’s been begging for me to make him a gluten free cake for weeks.  But I didn’t think about that.  So, to appease him, I promised that I would make him some pumpkin cake that used the same cream cheese frosting.

These started as a recipe for Maple Cake from Flying Apron’s “Gluten Free & Vegan Baking Book” but they went through quite a transformation and don’t look much like the original.

Gluten Free Pumpkin Cupcakes

2 cups sweet sorghum flour

1 cup garbanzo bean flour

1 tbsp baking soda

1/2 tsp sea salt

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

3/4 cup canola oil

1 1/2 cups water

1 tbsp. vanilla extract

1 cup maple syrup

1 cup pumpkin puree

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Mix the flours and the baking soda together with a whisk.  Add the salt and the spices and mix well.

In another bowl mix the oil, water, maple syrup, vanilla, and pumpkin.  Stir until there are minimal lumps left.  Pour the liquid into the flour mixture and stir well.

Using liners (because these tend to be a little crumbly) pour the batter into your muffin tins.  We got about 40 mini muffins.  Bake for 15 minutes or until about firm.  Let them cool in the pan.  When mostly cool transfer to a rack to cool completely.

The icing is the same one I made for the sweet potato cake.

Icing

1/2 cup earth balance

1 8oz package tofutti cream cheese

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups powdered sugar

Mix the earth balance and cream cheese in the bowl of a stand mixer (or use an electric hand mixer).  Blend until very mixed, close to 3 minutes.  Add the vanilla and mix.  Then add the powered sugar and mix until well combined.

Frost the cupcakes when they are completely cool.

They are a tad dry and, without the frosting, they are not very sweet.  But this combination works very well.

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. They look delicious! I just wish tofutti tasted better! I can’t get away with the stuff and thus avoid cream cheese altogether.

    Reply

  2. Sorry you don’t like it. With all that sugar the taste is pretty much masked but I totally understand. Everyone needs to find the things that work for them. Thanks on the compliments. I’m just starting to like some of the pictures I take.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

