Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Muffins – Vegan And Gluten Free

Along with being intolerant to wheat T has an intolerance to potatoes.  Actually he has a few others as well but the potatoes one impacts us in lots of ways.  I’ve already talked about the fact that he can’t eat French Fries which is, of course, death to a 12 year old boy.  But the other thing it impacts is that most premade gluten free mixes have potato starch in them.  If potato starch was far down on the list we have been ok with it, but we are realizing that even a little bit creates some problems.  However I’ve been having problems making my own mixes recently.

When I want to bake this is what I take out of the fridge and freezer.  I know there are plenty of people who have had success making their own mixes, and I have had some successes, but I haven’t been able to make anything I’ve been consistently happy with other than the Gluten Free Cookie Mix I use, and I haven’t had as much success making other things with that.  I will continue to mix things up and try them, but I have to admit I was thrilled when, on my weekend in DC, I found Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Biscuit Mix that does *not* contain potato starch.  I’ve made 2 different muffins with it and so far, I like it.  I think it might become my go-to flour mix for muffins, quick breads, and pancakes/waffles.  Yes it is a little pricey, but no more than buying all those other flours.

When thinking about the flour mix I decided to try looking up some quick bread recipes.  I happened upon this post which led me to this recipe on Natural Papa.  As you will see, my final recipe is quite different but I wanted to give credit to my inspiration!

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Muffins

1.5 cups Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Biscuit Mix (or other gluten free mix)

1 cup certified gluten free oats

3/4 cup organic white sugar

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon (I might use more next time…)

2 tbsp ground flax seeds

6 tbsp warm water

1 1/4 cups natural (no sugar added) applesauce

1/4 cup canola oil

1/4 cup almond milk

3/4 – 1 cup dairy free chocolate chips

1/3 cup brown sugar mixed with 1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Mix the flour, oatmeal, sugar, salt, and cinnamon together well.  In a small container mix the ground flax seeds and the warm water.  Let sit for a few minutes while you add the other liquid ingredients (applesauce, oil, and almond milk) to the dry ingredients.  Don’t mix yet.  Add the congealed flax mixture to everything else and mix together.  Then add the chocolate chips and mix well.

Grease your muffin pan.  The dough will be wet but not runny.  Plop it into your muffin tins.  When it is all used up, mix together your brown sugar and cinnamon.  Sprinkle a little on top of each muffin.  Bake for 20 minutes.  Let sit in the muffin pan for about 10 minutes before you remove them from the pan to cool on a rack.  They will appear a little gooey if you eat one now, but set nicely.

Makes about a dozen muffins.

These will be breakfast, dessert, and lunchbox snacks around here.  I think the basic muffin could be modified in many many ways.  What is your favorite muffin?

7 responses to this post.

  1. These look yummy! I love that you are so dedicated to making healthy food for everyone in your family to enjoy. You certainly don’t give up and that’s so great!
    My favorite muffin would have to be…hmmm…that’s a tough one. I don’t like muffins that are too sweet. So I would have to go with some kind of bran muffin with mix-ins. 🙂

    Reply

  2. These seriously look great! Chocolate-cherry- almond is my all time fave but I think yours sound equally as delicious! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by A Tablespoon of Liz on October 26, 2011 at 11:39 AM

    These look so good! I’m not gluten-free but I love baking that way! : )

    Reply

  4. […] was the last muffin and a banana.    I’ve been worried about my liquid intake recently.  Basically I’ve […]

    Reply

  5. […] To Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Muffins […]

    Reply

  6. […] and freeze for a quick breakfast.  There are lots of good recipes out there but two I like are Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Muffins and Banana Chocolate Chip muffins, both of which are also gluten free.  With a bowl of fruit, or […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

