My Trip To Great Sage

Before I left on my adventure last weekend my cousin Moe called and left me a message that basically said “Is there any restaurant you’d like to try or do you want me to cook you a vegan meal?”  Now, Moe is a culinary school graduate so anything she cooks or bakes is good but I called and left her a message that said “Well….since you asked….I’ve been dying to try Great Sage in Clarksville.  Is that too far?”

The next communication was a text from Moe that said “Of course not!!” and so I found myself last Friday night sitting at a lovely little table with Moe and her 16 month old son W, looking at a menu full of lots and lots of things I could order!

I told the server I was overwhelmed; That I live in an area without Vegan restaurants and that I didn’t know what to do.  He smiled and said “Because you can order anything on the menu!”

I decided to start with a green juice.  However, I did make a little mistake.  I read it quickly and saw that there was cucumber and mint but I neglected to read the word “celery.”  Celery is the one food I cannot stand.  I detest it.  Really and truly.  But I drank it.

We decided to split an appetizer and went with the soft pretzel and sauces.

The three sauces were a mustard sauce, a spicy hummus (very spicy!), and a cheese sauce.  My favorite was the cheese sauce and I pretty much licked the container clean.

Moe got the mac & cheese for adults which was wonderful.  It had Brussels Sprouts and cauliflower and I know next time I go I’ll be getting this!

I went with one of the specials which was eggplant breaded and fried with a sauce over pasta with a vegan creme and tomato sauce.

Yum.  Of course we had to order dessert.  Basically we ordered two and split them!  Pumpkin Creme Brulee and Chocolate Lava Cake with homemade coconut ice cream.

The pictures don’t do these desserts justice because, well, WOW.  Definitely a wonderful meal and a place I will go to as often as I can!!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by stefanie on October 26, 2011 at 3:02 PM

    I remember my first time in a vegan resturant. It took me a few minutes to decide what to get because I never had so many options. It looks like it was a great meal. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

