Vegan Minestrone

The cold front I talked about yesterday has come through.  As I drove home from work I was hit by how different it felt.  The coloring was different.  The air felt different.  And it was definitely much colder.

When I got home the smell of a wood fire greeted me as I opened the door.  The second smell I noticed was this wonderful soup simmering on the stove.  Aren’t I incredibly lucky to have a husband who not only is supportive of me in all I do but who also cooks??  Yes.  Yes I am.

Anyway, this is a mild variation on the minestrone soup recipe from “Vegan on $4 a Day” by Ellen Jaffe Jones.  I just got my copy and this is the first thing we’ve made from it, but there are many things I’ve been eyeing.

Minestrone

1/2 cup dried kidney beans

1/2 cup dried cannellini beans

6 cups water

1 28 oz can diced tomatoes

1 onion

3 carrots

1.5 cups cabbage

1 14oz can cut green beans or fresh or frozen

2 vegetable bouillon cubes

2 garlic cloves

4 oz gluten free whole grain spiral pasta

2 tbsp. fresh parsely

Soak the beans for at least 2 hours.  Then drain and put them in a large pot.  Add the water and bring to a boil.  Turn it down to medium-low, cover it, and let it cook for about an hour.  While it is cooking shred your cabbage and chop your other veggies.  (You can certainly use fresh or frozen green beans – We just didn’t have any.)  Then add the tomatoes (not drained), the chopped onion, the chopped carrots, the shredded cabbage, the can of green beans (drained), the 2 bouillon cubes (broken up if you can), and the chopped garlic.  Put the lid back on and cook, stirring occasionally, for about 30 minutes or until things are starting to soften.  Add the pasta and cook until tender (about 10-15 minutes for gluten free pasta).  Stir in the parsely and serve hot.

We really enjoyed this soup.  I had mine with some toasted bread topped with vegan pate (an exciting though expensive treat I found on my trip into DC last weekend).  It was great for a cold night!

Entering this recipe into Wellness Weekend!

What’s your favorite winter soup?

Leave a Reply

