I don’t want to admit to that online!

Today I’ve been photographing my food so that I could use it for Wednesday’s “What I Ate Wednesday” (WIAW).  It’s one of my favorite days of the week because I love seeing what people eat.  But I have decided that I won’t be using today.  Want to know why?

Because I don’t want to tell you what I ate!  LOL

Most of the time I do pretty well but sometimes, well sometimes, it doesn’t go as I would like.

My breakfast and lunch were good and I even didn’t snack when I got home because I was going to make a good healthy dinner for us all.  See?  Virtuous adult mom.  Mark was working late but that is no excuse for us not to have a wonderful balanced meal made with love and care.

But I overcooked the rice pasta and it was gummy.  Really gummy.  Like “I’ll eat it because I’m the adult and the kids need a good role model but MAN” gummy.

The sauce was only so-so.  It was a jarred sauce so how could I have hurt it you wonder?  I added some home canned tomatoes to it because I didn’t want them to go bad.  I was feeling so virtuous for not wasting food but really, it wasn’t very good.

My salad was fine, thank you.  But I didn’t have time to make up anything special for dressing so I had oil & vinegar and you know what?  I didn’t want oil & vinegar.

While dinner was cooking I had cut up some corn tortillas to make baked chips.  Remember that I am virtuous and not wasting food and trying to go gluten free along with vegan so I can take the best care of myself possible?  Yep.  That’s me.  Wonder woman.

And then I burned the chips.  Oh and I forgot to turn on the dishwasher so my kitchen is overflowing with dirty dishes that need to be in the next load except the next load won’t be for about 2 hours.

Did I mention I still have school work to do tonight that I, honestly, don’t want to do?  Or that I really just want to sit in a hot bath and forget I have to give a benchmark test tomorrow or that my ankles are swollen?

But I’m the adult so I’m going to do my work.  Get the kids to bed.  Find a way to deal with the burned chips.  Clean the kitchen.  Take care of the dog.  And try as hard as I can to ignore the fact that I’m just plain grumpy.  Or should I say crabby?

(Yes, that’s a crab hat!)

But I’m also going to call Mark and ask him to pick me up a pint of non-dairy ice cream on the way home.  And I’m going to eat it all out the carton after the kids are asleep.  And I’m not going to photograph it.  Because I don’t want to and you can’t make me.  How’s that for being mature??

Which is why I’m going to start over tomorrow morning taking pictures of my food for WIAW.  Because I don’t want to show you the empty container!

At the end of the day I know I am blessed.  I have everything I need and most of what I want.  I have family and friends who love me and support me and a dog who licks me even when I don’t want her to.  But I am allowed to be grumpy sometimes.

I hope your day wasn’t too grumpy and that if you need to eat a container of non-dairy ice cream from the container that you do it with pride!  Or wearing your crab hat!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kathleen on November 7, 2011 at 8:19 PM

    I love you!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Hesa on November 7, 2011 at 8:53 PM

    I adore you!!!

    Reply

  3. This post really made me smile! I love the way you write – I can almost hear you saying it, yet I’ve never met you. That right there is a gift – to be able to capture an audience like that through writing. Happy crabby pants day to you! Enjoy that ice cream to the fullest – you deserve it!

    Reply

    • Thanks Lauren! I spent years saying I wanted to write but too afraid to do anything about it because I thought I wasn’t good enough. I may never be a book author but I love that I can share things with people through my writing. It’s a creative outlet that I love (especially since I lost some with the RA because they used hand motions that were too small and hurt me). 🙂

      Reply

  4. Posted by stefanie on November 8, 2011 at 3:56 PM

    It is ok to be crabby. Enjoy your ice cream and start over tomorrow. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

