Hot Cocoa Mix!

I have always gotten cold in the winter but now, with the RA, I get colder and need more layers, fires, and hot beverages than ever before.  Hot cocoa has always been one of my favorite winter drinks am I will admit to normally just using a mix.  Finding a mix I could actually drink has been a challenge though. And while I was standing in front of my pantry thinking about what I could use up I happened to see the dry soy milk so I finally decided to make my own and you know what?  It was GOOD!  And super simple.  So here is my vegan and gluten free hot cocoa mix:

2 cups powdered soy milk

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1/2 cup sugar

Mix everything together with a whisk.

Store in an airtight container.

Use a heaping 1/4 cup mix with 1 cup water to make hot cocoa.

There are a lot of variations here.  I just used baking cocoa but, obviously, a really good cocoa would be better here.  Vanilla sugar would be stellar, and I’ve seen lots of recipes that call for salt though I didn’t add any and thought it was fine.  I’m also thinking of adding a tbsp of instant coffee to my cocoa for a sort of mocha taste sometimes.  I’ve heard of rice milk powder and think that would work for people who can’t do soy but have never seen it.  I’d love to hear how it turns out if you do try it that way!

I used 2 containers because of the size of what I had available.  I’m thinking of adding a little piece of holiday fabric to the top of the smaller container and giving it to someone at Christmas.  These would be easy fast gifts for your favorite vegan chocolate lover!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by stefanie on November 12, 2011 at 1:28 PM

    Do I see marshmellows in your cocoa? 🙂 That is a nice warming drink.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

