Kale Saute as we get ready for Thanksgiving

Balance.

I feel like I should start every post with this word these days since that seems to be what I am striving for.  Am I achieving it?  Probably not?  But I’m working at getting better.  I am trying to do things I love but also rest.

Last night we had some friends over for a fire pit.  I roasted Dandies marshmallows which tasted quite good.  I would have liked them to be a little bigger, though!

Today we took a great walk on the beach with the dog.

But when I got home it was time to rest.  A few hours in bed helped me feel better.

I’ve got lots to do this week with Thanksgiving.  We are hosting 11 (maybe 12) people here Thursday (which includes me & the 3 who live with me).  There will be meat eaters and a vegan and a gluten free kid and a meat eater child who can’t have dairy or soy.  Plus a woman allergic to chocolate.  So there will be quite a lot of food diversity at my table! I’m still not sure if I’m just going to eat side dishes (my favorite part of the Thanksgiving meal) or make myself a main dish.

To get prepared I’ve been trying some things out and this is my favorite so far!

This is a variation on the recipe for Sauteed Kale with Golden Garlic and Dates from the December 2011 issue of Vegetarian Times.  I made a few changes based on our preferences and I would probably make a few more.  But I really enjoyed this and am thinking it will make a nice addition to my Thanksgiving table!  A side dish for meat eaters I could easily eat this as a main!  It’s vegan and gluten free and free of refined sugars.  We were divided as to those who liked the dates and those who didn’t.  If you don’t like them they are easily picked out.  We think raisins might be a good addition for those who don’t like dates, and we think toasted pine nuts might add some good crunch!

Kale Saute

1 bulb fresh garlic

2 tbsp olive oil

1 lb chopped kale

1/3 cup sliced pitted dates

2 tbsp or more white wine vinegar

1 tbsp or more sea salt

Peel the garlic bulb and slice the cloves.  You are looking for about 1/3 cup sliced garlic but a little more would be nice too.

Put the 2 tbsp of oil and the sliced garlic in a large pan over medium/high heat.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until the garlic gets brown.  Take the garlic slices out of the pan, putting them on a plate to sit.

Add a big handful of the chopped kale to the hot pan, stirring well.  When it gets softer and smaller add another handful and stir until it has all been added.  When it is all in the pan let it cook about 5 minutes more, stirring occasionally.

Add in the sliced dates (or raisins) and the vinegar.  We thought about 2 tbsp vinegar was right but we put the vinegar on the table and some people added more.  Stir and cook about 2-3 more minutes.  Stir in the salt and mix well.  Put on a platter and sprinkle the browned garlic on top.

This makes about 4 hefty side servings.

Leave a Reply

