Butternut Squash And Apple Casserole

As I said in my last post, I’m not the best best planner. I have long subscribed to the “pantry principle” from Amy Dacyczyn’s “Tightwad Gazette” books. It basically means that you stock your pantry with set staples and then buy other things as the go on sale. You buy food and then find uses for it; You don’t buy food for a specific recipe.

That is why I found myself with a beautiful butternut squash the night before Thanksgiving.  I did some online research and found a recipe that looked promising and easy so I planned on that.

Then on the day of Thanksgiving my internet went down and wouldn’t come back up so I thought that this dish would just not happen.  Luckily, though, it did.  Because it was probably my favorite thing on the table!

Here it is before it went in the oven:

Butternut Squash and Apple Casserole

  • 1 medium butternut squash, peeled and deseeded
  • 3 apples
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp coconut spread
  • 2 tbsp gluten free flour mix
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1  tsp cinnamon
  • 1  tsp nutmeg

Preparation:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Using a food processor, slice the butternut squash and apples into thin pieces. Or, if you don’t have a food processor, you can chop into small dices. Place the squash and apples into a baking dish or casserole dish.

Mash together the remaining ingredients with your hand. sprinkle over the apples and squash.

Bake for an hour.

After baking (and after some people have had some!)

I have eaten the leftovers both cold and hot and I liked it both ways.  🙂

Not the prettiest dish but it sure was good.  What was your favorite dish from Thanksgiving?

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Linda P. on November 28, 2011 at 5:58 PM

    My favorite dish was one that I bought rather than made. It was angostura- and marmalade-glazed sweet potato wedges from Happy Vegan Baker in Austin, Tx. Or, wait, was it the caraway, maple-roasted brussels sprouts?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

